Couscous with Chickpeas and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Yes, add the Lipton Onion Soup mix... it will need it unless you're looking for something on the mild/bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Good but needs more flavor. Makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a very tasty dish! I really liked the delicate flavor from the chicken broth. The only change I made was to add fresh chives instead of parsley, because that was what I had around! Thanks for sharing; I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This recipe is rather plain as is. I used more onion, garlic & parsley and it was still not that flavourful. I also added some cinnamon and cumin towards the end - that assisted somewhat. It was however a good supporting dish to the chicken which had a lot of fresh basil and sun dried tomatoes in the marinade. It helped balance out the overall flavour. I would make it again but with more modifications suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I loved this recipe....I added a tomato and extra garlic, didn't use any oil to skimp on the fat. It turned out delicious, although my husband didn't really love the chickpeas. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Baxtron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ULTRAGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I served this with cedar plank grilled salmon and sauteed zuchinni with basil and parmesan. When the other dishes have strong flavors it's nice to have a side dish that doesn't over power, but is still tasty. 10 oz of couscous is a lot, so next time I would use a whole onion and a little more garlic. I used about 1/2 tsp salt. I think the fresh parsley is important for flavor and color, so don't skimp on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
THIS IS SO AMAZING. I add canned carrots and raisins, and I use low fat/sodium broth. It's so easy and pretty much anything you toss in will taste good. It's the most flexible and delicious recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe was delicious - and a snap to prepare! I didn't have any broth on hand, so I used boullion, and I used whole wheat couscous as well. I thought the flavors were great, and even my picky husband told me I could make it again! Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I haven't made this recipe, I was just poking around for recipes including chickpeas. However, I read some of the comments. If the dish as written is bland, you can definitely add some spices to it that will make it more "Moroccan," (which is some of the best food on earth!!) Also, I checked out the Mixed Grill recipe, and it contains pork, which is definitely NOT Moroccan. Maybe some lamb shanks or shoulder cut into pieces. Chicken is also very good with carrots. For the spices, first, I wouldn't make parsley optional, I would make it required, and also some cilantro. Also, try adding some ginger, paprika, and cumin - all to your taste. You can also go a different route completely with it, and add some cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, a little saffron, and a little powdered sugar, and if you're adventurous, some dried apricots (remove garlic if you go this route). For cooking it, cook the couscous separately, but in the chicken broth. Let the onions cook until soft, then and add the carrots and spices, some water (and meat if you want it), and let this cook for a while on a low heat, covered, until the onions become saucy, they should be almost disintegrated when it's done and the carrots should be soft. Turn the meat once in a while, and stir the sauce. If it gets dry, you can add a little water to it while it cooks, and also at the end, if too saucy, remove the lid and let some of the water evaporate. Serve over couscous, or eat with pita bread. Again, I haven't mad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
kind of bland, and mine turned out very dry.perhaps next time add more chicken stock?very pretty dish though.i love chickpeass so that was a nice addition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States