Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! It is light and refreshing. A few changes I made: I've made it both with couscous and with orzo. Since the orzo was a thicker, larger substance than the couscous, it worked better with the cucumber. I also used 2 whole cucumbers which was NOT too much. I made it recently as a main dish, and just added sliced chicken breast (grilled on the George Forman with lemon pepper seasoning - EASY!)... it was just right. Thanks for submitting this recipe, it's one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Quite nice, couscous soaks up the flavour. Try adding some extra vinaigrette just before serving. You may want a lower grain-to-veggie ratio, and if so toss in some chopped tomatoes and sliced black olives. This goes great and can make a greek sort of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
My husband and I loved it!!!! I added some feta cheese and a can of tomatoes and it added so much to the flavor. We will be doing this agian soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I love couscous but I prefer having more veggies than grain so I pumped up this recipie a bit by adding celery and tomates too. Regardless, this is a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My new absolute favorite! The seasonings and lemon are perfect together, and the cucumber was just made for it. Could easily add tomatoes, bell peppers, or other crunchy-type veggies but it's perfect just as-is. I'd give it more than five stars if I could. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used the advice of others and added less lemon juice, and I also added some fat-free plain yogurt and chopped mint for a more mediterranean flavor... the couscous soaked up the liquids well and it was tasty for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is one of my husband's new favorite recipes. Light and healthy, but filling. We usually put the mixture in a wrap or pita to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I think it needs a little more flavor. Next time I would add some minced garlic and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
This is a good cold salad that's easy enough to make. I would recommend cutting back on the water a bit, though, so the herbs and spices are a little more prevalent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Easy, tasty, healthy dish. I recommend adding feta for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States