Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! It is light and refreshing. A few changes I made: I've made it both with couscous and with orzo. Since the orzo was a thicker, larger substance than the couscous, it worked better with the cucumber. I also used 2 whole cucumbers which was NOT too much. I made it recently as a main dish, and just added sliced chicken breast (grilled on the George Forman with lemon pepper seasoning - EASY!)... it was just right. Thanks for submitting this recipe, it's one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Quite nice, couscous soaks up the flavour. Try adding some extra vinaigrette just before serving. You may want a lower grain-to-veggie ratio, and if so toss in some chopped tomatoes and sliced black olives. This goes great and can make a greek sort of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
My husband and I loved it!!!! I added some feta cheese and a can of tomatoes and it added so much to the flavor. We will be doing this agian soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I love couscous but I prefer having more veggies than grain so I pumped up this recipie a bit by adding celery and tomates too. Regardless, this is a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My new absolute favorite! The seasonings and lemon are perfect together, and the cucumber was just made for it. Could easily add tomatoes, bell peppers, or other crunchy-type veggies but it's perfect just as-is. I'd give it more than five stars if I could. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used the advice of others and added less lemon juice, and I also added some fat-free plain yogurt and chopped mint for a more mediterranean flavor... the couscous soaked up the liquids well and it was tasty for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is one of my husband's new favorite recipes. Light and healthy, but filling. We usually put the mixture in a wrap or pita to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I think it needs a little more flavor. Next time I would add some minced garlic and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
This is a good cold salad that's easy enough to make. I would recommend cutting back on the water a bit, though, so the herbs and spices are a little more prevalent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Easy, tasty, healthy dish. I recommend adding feta for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States