Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Yum! I've been looking for a good summer salad. This one is light and very fresh tasting. I believe I will mess around with the ratios next time to make it a little bit more green (ie more cucumber, basil, parsley) and maybe add a little garlic. I probably didn't add as much lemon juice as the recipe calls for (sometimes I don't measure, just go on taste) but if you are concerned, start with half a lemon and if you need more, add it at the end. I followed the directions on making the couscous and it turned out perfect! just make sure to fluff it with a fork when its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used the advice of others and added less lemon juice, and I also added some fat-free plain yogurt and chopped mint for a more mediterranean flavor... the couscous soaked up the liquids well and it was tasty for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
It was alright, nothing special, was a bit dry eventhough I increased the liquid ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is a pretty good basis but not exactly the Lebanese flavor I was expecting. I'd reduce the lemon juice and add some more spices next time. Dill maybe? I still enjoyed it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
We really liked this side dish. It's light, easy to prepare and has great flavor. Great side dish for the summer! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I scaled this to 2 servings to go with chicken kabobs. These are VERY generous servings. I made the dressing cutting back the lemon per previous reviews, added approx twice the green onion into the dressing so the lemon and salt could mellow them a little and using minimum salt. Made the couscous adding the rest of the lemon juice to the cooking water and since I had no fresh herbs I added dry to the cooking water. As soon as the couscous was cooked I poured on the dressing and stirred it in well, set aside to cool. Used an English cucumber, diced about 1/2" dice. When the couscous was cool, I added the cucumber and returned to the refrigerator for about 2-3 hours. I did need to add salt & pepper on the plate but by not adding the full amount in the dressing hoped to not end up with a watery salad and so far it's worked. Now I plan to add tomato and black olives and a bit of balsamic dressing to serve with sirloin kabobs or steak. All in all a very good recipe with endless possibilities. Very refreshing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My new absolute favorite! The seasonings and lemon are perfect together, and the cucumber was just made for it. Could easily add tomatoes, bell peppers, or other crunchy-type veggies but it's perfect just as-is. I'd give it more than five stars if I could. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This is honestly the first time I've been disappointed in an allrecipes.com recipe. It was bland, the texture was mushy, and I don't think I can ever eat a cucumber again; it more or less was eating straight cucumbers with couscous. The recipe went straight in the trash. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
What a fresh taste! I was worried as I didn't wait the hour for the mixture to blend as my time was short and I was hungry. I was expecting it to be bland (after reading other reviews). Instead, it went BANG when it tasted it. My first impression was lemon, then I tasted the basil and parsley. I can't wait to finish it. I halved the recipe and used half a vegetable boullion cube to season the couscous. I used dried basil as I didn't have any fresh. I used a tiny piece of red spanish onion as I don't like a strong onion taste and didn't have any green. The red onion added some colour to the predominantly green salad. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. What a great way to use up cucumber. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I don't know what happened but this was inedible despite the fact that I love couscous and cucumbers! Even my husband who loves lots of lemon couldn't eat this - it just didn't work for us. Sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States