Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
His is a tasty alternative side to any steak or hearty meat dish cool light and full of flavor very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmysam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I added sliced black olives, feta, sun dried tomatoes. Tasted wonderful for dinner and lunch the next day. Also made with fresh tomatoes this has become a staple in our house. My boys love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is an EXCELLENT recipe in every way; easy to prepare and scrumptious! This recipe can be modified very easily if you want to change it up a little. I followed another reveiwer's suggestion and used one box of Near East couscous but instead of plain I used toasted pine nut and Athenos crumbled feta cheese with basil and tomato. I also used grape tomatoes and just cut them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gidget

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
First, made it as is and found there was too much lemon and not enough vegetables. Second go around I made these changes: Cut lemon juice to 1/3cup and made up the difference in liquid with Olive Oil. Then I added some celery and tomatoes (would also be a great chance to use some zucchini!). The ratio of veggies to couscous was MUCH better and the lemon was a compliment instead of overpowering. I served this with grilled chicken which everyone loved but it would also go great with some grilled salmon. With the changes, it makes a good, refreshing summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Just ok...needed something more but not sure even yet what that something would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious!! The only changes I made were to add some garlic (which I blended with the lemon juice and olive oil to make a dressing) and some Mediterranean herb-flavored feta cheese. It was sooo good! I was skeptical that these flavors would all work together but I was very pleasantly surprised. I served this with Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce from this site and it made a great, healthy, flavorful meal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was very tasty, we served it with Kibbeh (also got the recipe from allrecipes) and the flavors blended so well together. I only had dried herbs so I added them and part of the lemon juice to the cooking water for the couscous. I also used almost a whole english cucumber (didn't need to seed it) and substituted red onion for some color and added about a cup of frozen sweet corn kernals (I'd add even more next time, we all thought the corn added a lot to the recipe). I think this would be great with fresh tomatoes also. Thanks for the recipe, I have a feeling it's one we'll use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Made the recipe as written and it was pretty darn good. Simple to make, nice fresh taste. I would sprinkle a little extra lemon juice on it before eating just to freshen it, but it kept well in the fridge for a couple of days. Could easily be a five star by adding some other flavors...be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very good and easy! I used less lemon juice and added in chopped celery, petite diced tomatoes(rinsed), and a can of sliced black olives. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was extremely quick and easy to prepare. I added grilled steak strips to make it an easy one-dish meal. I also added red pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States