Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is an EXCELLENT recipe in every way; easy to prepare and scrumptious! This recipe can be modified very easily if you want to change it up a little. I followed another reveiwer's suggestion and used one box of Near East couscous but instead of plain I used toasted pine nut and Athenos crumbled feta cheese with basil and tomato. I also used grape tomatoes and just cut them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gidget

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
First, made it as is and found there was too much lemon and not enough vegetables. Second go around I made these changes: Cut lemon juice to 1/3cup and made up the difference in liquid with Olive Oil. Then I added some celery and tomatoes (would also be a great chance to use some zucchini!). The ratio of veggies to couscous was MUCH better and the lemon was a compliment instead of overpowering. I served this with grilled chicken which everyone loved but it would also go great with some grilled salmon. With the changes, it makes a good, refreshing summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Just ok...needed something more but not sure even yet what that something would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious!! The only changes I made were to add some garlic (which I blended with the lemon juice and olive oil to make a dressing) and some Mediterranean herb-flavored feta cheese. It was sooo good! I was skeptical that these flavors would all work together but I was very pleasantly surprised. I served this with Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce from this site and it made a great, healthy, flavorful meal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was very tasty, we served it with Kibbeh (also got the recipe from allrecipes) and the flavors blended so well together. I only had dried herbs so I added them and part of the lemon juice to the cooking water for the couscous. I also used almost a whole english cucumber (didn't need to seed it) and substituted red onion for some color and added about a cup of frozen sweet corn kernals (I'd add even more next time, we all thought the corn added a lot to the recipe). I think this would be great with fresh tomatoes also. Thanks for the recipe, I have a feeling it's one we'll use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Made the recipe as written and it was pretty darn good. Simple to make, nice fresh taste. I would sprinkle a little extra lemon juice on it before eating just to freshen it, but it kept well in the fridge for a couple of days. Could easily be a five star by adding some other flavors...be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very good and easy! I used less lemon juice and added in chopped celery, petite diced tomatoes(rinsed), and a can of sliced black olives. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was extremely quick and easy to prepare. I added grilled steak strips to make it an easy one-dish meal. I also added red pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is awesome! I have been making a version of this that includes mushrooms, grape tomatoes and thinly sliced cooked top sirloin steak with a little red wine vin. dressing added... it is simple and very yummy and works with just about any protein source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was a good zesty salad, but a little dry after sitting in the fridge for a few hours. Needs more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States