Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
This recipe is awesome! Great taste, easy and quick to prepare. I don't have kids so I don't know if they would like it, but believe me the adults certainly do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is one of my husband's new favorite recipes. Light and healthy, but filling. We usually put the mixture in a wrap or pita to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
My husband and I loved it!!!! I added some feta cheese and a can of tomatoes and it added so much to the flavor. We will be doing this agian soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Light and refreshing! I scaled this recipe in half and had it for my lunch. I added a tomato and would probably try adding peas, corn or even cheese pieces next time. Its a very versatile recipe and very tasty. I didn't use green onions as I didn't have any but used a little piece of regular onion chopped up finely as well as a squirt of Braggs (natural soy sauce). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I found this recipe on allrecipes a couple of years ago and it's been in heavy rotation in my kitchen ever since. It's a nice summer salad and great for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
What a fresh taste! I was worried as I didn't wait the hour for the mixture to blend as my time was short and I was hungry. I was expecting it to be bland (after reading other reviews). Instead, it went BANG when it tasted it. My first impression was lemon, then I tasted the basil and parsley. I can't wait to finish it. I halved the recipe and used half a vegetable boullion cube to season the couscous. I used dried basil as I didn't have any fresh. I used a tiny piece of red spanish onion as I don't like a strong onion taste and didn't have any green. The red onion added some colour to the predominantly green salad. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. What a great way to use up cucumber. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My new absolute favorite! The seasonings and lemon are perfect together, and the cucumber was just made for it. Could easily add tomatoes, bell peppers, or other crunchy-type veggies but it's perfect just as-is. I'd give it more than five stars if I could. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Fabulous! I made a few changes based on what was available: I used red onion instead of green and fresh mint instead of parsley (which was fantastic). I also added a chopped and seeded tomato. I highly recommend serving this with salmon. My husband initially complained the couscous was too citrus-y but once he "layered" it with the salmon, thought it was to die for. Next time I will plate this with the couscous in the middle of the plate with the salmon fillet directly on top. The two should be eaten together, on the same forkful, as it is an AMAZING flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! It is light and refreshing. A few changes I made: I've made it both with couscous and with orzo. Since the orzo was a thicker, larger substance than the couscous, it worked better with the cucumber. I also used 2 whole cucumbers which was NOT too much. I made it recently as a main dish, and just added sliced chicken breast (grilled on the George Forman with lemon pepper seasoning - EASY!)... it was just right. Thanks for submitting this recipe, it's one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Love this! Nice and light, good side to a basic fish. I've made it a few time, and do add a fair amount of garlic and have also tried with minced onion when I didn't have the green onion available, which also worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States