Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
It was alright, nothing special, was a bit dry eventhough I increased the liquid ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is a pretty good basis but not exactly the Lebanese flavor I was expecting. I'd reduce the lemon juice and add some more spices next time. Dill maybe? I still enjoyed it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
We really liked this side dish. It's light, easy to prepare and has great flavor. Great side dish for the summer! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I scaled this to 2 servings to go with chicken kabobs. These are VERY generous servings. I made the dressing cutting back the lemon per previous reviews, added approx twice the green onion into the dressing so the lemon and salt could mellow them a little and using minimum salt. Made the couscous adding the rest of the lemon juice to the cooking water and since I had no fresh herbs I added dry to the cooking water. As soon as the couscous was cooked I poured on the dressing and stirred it in well, set aside to cool. Used an English cucumber, diced about 1/2" dice. When the couscous was cool, I added the cucumber and returned to the refrigerator for about 2-3 hours. I did need to add salt & pepper on the plate but by not adding the full amount in the dressing hoped to not end up with a watery salad and so far it's worked. Now I plan to add tomato and black olives and a bit of balsamic dressing to serve with sirloin kabobs or steak. All in all a very good recipe with endless possibilities. Very refreshing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My new absolute favorite! The seasonings and lemon are perfect together, and the cucumber was just made for it. Could easily add tomatoes, bell peppers, or other crunchy-type veggies but it's perfect just as-is. I'd give it more than five stars if I could. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This is honestly the first time I've been disappointed in an allrecipes.com recipe. It was bland, the texture was mushy, and I don't think I can ever eat a cucumber again; it more or less was eating straight cucumbers with couscous. The recipe went straight in the trash. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
What a fresh taste! I was worried as I didn't wait the hour for the mixture to blend as my time was short and I was hungry. I was expecting it to be bland (after reading other reviews). Instead, it went BANG when it tasted it. My first impression was lemon, then I tasted the basil and parsley. I can't wait to finish it. I halved the recipe and used half a vegetable boullion cube to season the couscous. I used dried basil as I didn't have any fresh. I used a tiny piece of red spanish onion as I don't like a strong onion taste and didn't have any green. The red onion added some colour to the predominantly green salad. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. What a great way to use up cucumber. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I don't know what happened but this was inedible despite the fact that I love couscous and cucumbers! Even my husband who loves lots of lemon couldn't eat this - it just didn't work for us. Sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I found this recipe on allrecipes a couple of years ago and it's been in heavy rotation in my kitchen ever since. It's a nice summer salad and great for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Salad was okay - needed a lot more flavor. I ended up having to put salad dressing to make it taste more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States