Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great recipe. I left out the lettuce, but added in half a jar of finely chopped sun dried tomatoes and used the oil from the tomatoes in lieu of the olive oil - it gave the recipe a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was the first time I tried couscous and I thought this recipe was very good. I didn't have fresh basil, so I used dried. (fresh would probably be much better. I would use less green onions next time. I also added plum tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Thank you very much for this recipe. I used green onions/tops and parsley from my garden, seeded tomatoes and cucumbers. I used lots of veggies. Fresh is best! Play with your favorite veggie additions and you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Love this! Nice and light, good side to a basic fish. I've made it a few time, and do add a fair amount of garlic and have also tried with minced onion when I didn't have the green onion available, which also worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very good! I also added some chopped red, yellow and green pepper to my dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! It is light and refreshing. A few changes I made: I've made it both with couscous and with orzo. Since the orzo was a thicker, larger substance than the couscous, it worked better with the cucumber. I also used 2 whole cucumbers which was NOT too much. I made it recently as a main dish, and just added sliced chicken breast (grilled on the George Forman with lemon pepper seasoning - EASY!)... it was just right. Thanks for submitting this recipe, it's one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Fabulous! I made a few changes based on what was available: I used red onion instead of green and fresh mint instead of parsley (which was fantastic). I also added a chopped and seeded tomato. I highly recommend serving this with salmon. My husband initially complained the couscous was too citrus-y but once he "layered" it with the salmon, thought it was to die for. Next time I will plate this with the couscous in the middle of the plate with the salmon fillet directly on top. The two should be eaten together, on the same forkful, as it is an AMAZING flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Pretty good, but I added more cukes & less pasta (I used orzo since that's what I had on hand. ) Adding some feta cheese at the end added some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Aurora, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Yum! I've been looking for a good summer salad. This one is light and very fresh tasting. I believe I will mess around with the ratios next time to make it a little bit more green (ie more cucumber, basil, parsley) and maybe add a little garlic. I probably didn't add as much lemon juice as the recipe calls for (sometimes I don't measure, just go on taste) but if you are concerned, start with half a lemon and if you need more, add it at the end. I followed the directions on making the couscous and it turned out perfect! just make sure to fluff it with a fork when its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used the advice of others and added less lemon juice, and I also added some fat-free plain yogurt and chopped mint for a more mediterranean flavor... the couscous soaked up the liquids well and it was tasty for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States