Couscous Royale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
this was fantastic! i didn't have harissa on hand, so i used tabasco (1 tsp) and red chili flakes (1 tsp) instead, and the taste was FABULOUS! i wanted it spicy and it was just perfect. My experience with couscous grain has never been as conclusive as simply pouring boiling hot water (with integrated chicken stock powder, olive oil and salt) over equal amount of couscous grain in a metal bowl. Cover with a tight-fitting lid and let cook on its own - away from stovetop - for up to 10-12 minutes. Uncover and fluff it with fork, so grains are well separated. if need be, add a bit more olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
my husband and I both loved this! I used ground Italian sausage and, since I didn't have harissa, used 2 tablespoons of adzhika instead. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I have never cooked any middle eastern dish before and this one turned out amazing. I followed the recipe exactly except I could not find the harissa paste but this lady at a ethnic grocery told me the hot curry chile paste would work. You can find it in the international food section in a major grocery like walmart. It add plenty of spice and the flavor was mind blowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aislinnkay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was GREAT! I did not even have all the ingredients, especially the spices, yet it turned out awesome! My husband loved it as well and told me to 'save this recipe'. :) Even if you don't have all the ingredients it will certainly turn out fine. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great dish! So tasty! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This dish was so good! I forgot to add the yogurt at the end and couldn't find any harissa but otherwise made it the same. Our friends that we had over were impressed and my husband loved it. It was a bit spicy for me but I think that using mild italian sausage would help out with that area. My only complaint (if you can even call it that) is that this says 6 servings but we had 4 adults eating it and still had half of it left over afterwards! But the leftovers taste just as good. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This dish was so tasty. My boyfriend and I loved it. I did not have chicken thighs (which, I'm sure, would have been lovely) so I quartered a couple chicken breasts. I did not have harissa, nor do I know what it is, so I omitted it. Regardless, this dish tasted super good. Just spicy enough and the sizing of the veg was perfect. Also, the veg remained somewhat firm - just the way we like it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I used mild sausage, left out the chicken and halved the recipe (only 2 of us). We still had leftovers. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great recipe! I used spicy Italian sausage only, substituted dry mustard for tumeric, and left out the yogurt. My husband loved it! We will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this for a family get together. Everyone raved about the dish. This is spicy and flavorful. Next time will add mushrooms. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States