Couscous Royale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is very good and quite impressive. I tend to make it with either just chicken or just sausage depending on what I have in the freezer. The yogurt on top makes it slightly less spicy and gives a wonderful last touch to the recipe. I will continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This dish was so good! I forgot to add the yogurt at the end and couldn't find any harissa but otherwise made it the same. Our friends that we had over were impressed and my husband loved it. It was a bit spicy for me but I think that using mild italian sausage would help out with that area. My only complaint (if you can even call it that) is that this says 6 servings but we had 4 adults eating it and still had half of it left over afterwards! But the leftovers taste just as good. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This dish was so tasty. My boyfriend and I loved it. I did not have chicken thighs (which, I'm sure, would have been lovely) so I quartered a couple chicken breasts. I did not have harissa, nor do I know what it is, so I omitted it. Regardless, this dish tasted super good. Just spicy enough and the sizing of the veg was perfect. Also, the veg remained somewhat firm - just the way we like it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I used mild sausage, left out the chicken and halved the recipe (only 2 of us). We still had leftovers. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was a huge hit at a dinner party- everyone had seconds! This also made way more than 6 servings- more like 10 generous ones. I also found I had enough broth in the meat and vegetable mixture to prepare the couscous. I simply threw in the 2 cups of couscous directly into the pot after it was done cooking, waited 5 minutes, and gave it a stir (I used medium sized couscous). We also found it wasn't as spicy as we would have liked, so we simply mixed a teaspoon or so of harissa with some chicken broth, and poured it over the meal. It was fabulous. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was very good. I used 1 lb. chicken breasts and no sausage. Couldn't find harissa anywhere, so skipped it, and subbed a parsnip for the rutabaga - which I didn't really like. The flavor is great, though. I upped the turmeric and cayenne a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I played with this a lot because my husband is not a big tomato fan. I used 2 large chicken breasts and also cut out the sausage to make it lower fat and lower calorie. It was a really yummy dinner and even my picky little guy seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great recipe! I used spicy Italian sausage only, substituted dry mustard for tumeric, and left out the yogurt. My husband loved it! We will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
my husband and I both loved this! I used ground Italian sausage and, since I didn't have harissa, used 2 tablespoons of adzhika instead. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used chicken thighs and drumbsticks with italian sausage. It might have been better with boneless chicken pieces. The vegies were overcooked by the time the chicken was done. It wasn't so much a stew as I served the sausage and vegies over the couscous with the chicken on the side. I didn't add turnip or garbanzo beans because I don't care for them. Didn't find harissa and used curry powder instead of tumeric. My husband liked it and the leftovers were good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States