Couscous Royale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This dish was so tasty. My boyfriend and I loved it. I did not have chicken thighs (which, I'm sure, would have been lovely) so I quartered a couple chicken breasts. I did not have harissa, nor do I know what it is, so I omitted it. Regardless, this dish tasted super good. Just spicy enough and the sizing of the veg was perfect. Also, the veg remained somewhat firm - just the way we like it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This dish was so good! I forgot to add the yogurt at the end and couldn't find any harissa but otherwise made it the same. Our friends that we had over were impressed and my husband loved it. It was a bit spicy for me but I think that using mild italian sausage would help out with that area. My only complaint (if you can even call it that) is that this says 6 servings but we had 4 adults eating it and still had half of it left over afterwards! But the leftovers taste just as good. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I used mild sausage, left out the chicken and halved the recipe (only 2 of us). We still had leftovers. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is very good and quite impressive. I tend to make it with either just chicken or just sausage depending on what I have in the freezer. The yogurt on top makes it slightly less spicy and gives a wonderful last touch to the recipe. I will continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this for a family get together. Everyone raved about the dish. This is spicy and flavorful. Next time will add mushrooms. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It was a good, hearty stew, great for a cold day. When I make it again, however, I don't think that I will use chicken thighs. The meat was wonderful and tender but defnitely was not the easiest to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great, unusual combination of flavors, though for my personal taste I used a lot more of all the spices. The harissa is a lovely addition (found it at World Market) - do use it if you can find it. They didn't have any parsnips at Target so I used potato instead - and I should note I omitted the meat entirely as I am a vegetarian, but my meat-eating boyfriend enjoyed it too. Fun recipe to play with - next time I'll consider adding some kind of nut, maybe pine nuts, for extra crunch and heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great recipe! I used spicy Italian sausage only, substituted dry mustard for tumeric, and left out the yogurt. My husband loved it! We will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I played with this a lot because my husband is not a big tomato fan. I used 2 large chicken breasts and also cut out the sausage to make it lower fat and lower calorie. It was a really yummy dinner and even my picky little guy seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was very good. I used 1 lb. chicken breasts and no sausage. Couldn't find harissa anywhere, so skipped it, and subbed a parsnip for the rutabaga - which I didn't really like. The flavor is great, though. I upped the turmeric and cayenne a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States