Couscous Royale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this with the rutabaga and no meat. It tastes AMAZING and I'll definately make it again. I added some milk to it, until it was a light orange and it made it soo much better. Thanks for the recipe :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was a huge hit at a dinner party- everyone had seconds! This also made way more than 6 servings- more like 10 generous ones. I also found I had enough broth in the meat and vegetable mixture to prepare the couscous. I simply threw in the 2 cups of couscous directly into the pot after it was done cooking, waited 5 minutes, and gave it a stir (I used medium sized couscous). We also found it wasn't as spicy as we would have liked, so we simply mixed a teaspoon or so of harissa with some chicken broth, and poured it over the meal. It was fabulous. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used chicken thighs and drumbsticks with italian sausage. It might have been better with boneless chicken pieces. The vegies were overcooked by the time the chicken was done. It wasn't so much a stew as I served the sausage and vegies over the couscous with the chicken on the side. I didn't add turnip or garbanzo beans because I don't care for them. Didn't find harissa and used curry powder instead of tumeric. My husband liked it and the leftovers were good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very good! Made this without the Italian sausage. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was very good. I used 1 lb. chicken breasts and no sausage. Couldn't find harissa anywhere, so skipped it, and subbed a parsnip for the rutabaga - which I didn't really like. The flavor is great, though. I upped the turmeric and cayenne a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I played with this a lot because my husband is not a big tomato fan. I used 2 large chicken breasts and also cut out the sausage to make it lower fat and lower calorie. It was a really yummy dinner and even my picky little guy seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great recipe! I used spicy Italian sausage only, substituted dry mustard for tumeric, and left out the yogurt. My husband loved it! We will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great, unusual combination of flavors, though for my personal taste I used a lot more of all the spices. The harissa is a lovely addition (found it at World Market) - do use it if you can find it. They didn't have any parsnips at Target so I used potato instead - and I should note I omitted the meat entirely as I am a vegetarian, but my meat-eating boyfriend enjoyed it too. Fun recipe to play with - next time I'll consider adding some kind of nut, maybe pine nuts, for extra crunch and heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It was a good, hearty stew, great for a cold day. When I make it again, however, I don't think that I will use chicken thighs. The meat was wonderful and tender but defnitely was not the easiest to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this for a family get together. Everyone raved about the dish. This is spicy and flavorful. Next time will add mushrooms. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States