Couscous Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Tip: Mushroom stock is SOOO much tastier than Vegetable stock. This is a wonderful recipe you can adjust to your taste. I usually use whatever herbs or veggies I have around at the time. I will often trade the mint, for basil, cilantro or parsley, depending on what is fresh in my garden. I will also use any vegis in my refrigerator that are leftover from previous meals..Carrots, zucchini, green beans etc. You can't add to many vegetables if they are diced small. I almost prefer to have a half vegis to half pearl couscous in the end. Is a wonderful accompaniment to shrimp, fish, chicken or vegetarian alternative meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG219
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Ok so I used all the ingredients to the T, but preparations were done differently. I cooked pearl couscous in sauce pan with broth. Then microwaved and strained the peas. I sauteed onion, jalapeno, and spices in skillet for 3 minutes then added sliced asparagus. Cooked until asparagus was done to our taste at which I tossed in peas and couscous couscous. Mixed it all up in the skillet for a moment, and then served. We tried the mint, but picked it off and added parmesan cheese. I think the flavor would be pretty much the same since I used all the ingredients except the mint. Mint was just weird for us. Will make this again just the way I did. We really liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've made this and craved it later! SOO good! Add some shrimp and you have a whole meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Pacheco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
this was so awesome! i added extra olive oil and extra lemon at the end to make it more like a "salad".. didn't have fresh mint so used cilantro instead and chicken broth for the veggie stock.. can't wait to make this for bf and his daughter.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Loved this dish! We'd give it 10 stars if we could! I only had 1 1/2 cups of couscous, so I cooked a box of Near East brand Quinoa and Brown rice and added that with the hot broth. Also, I didn't cook any of the vegetables, just added them with the boiling broth and let it all sit. Sooooo good. The mint really added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was a great recipe and can be customized in so many ways. I read one review where someone served it with grilled shrimp. That sounds great. I made it just the way the recipe called for and thought it was great just as is. I served it as a side dish with oven fried chicken. I am thinking that next time I might make it with chick peas for a protein rich, vegetarian main dish. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This dish has several things going for it; easy to make, inexpensive, colorful, and very delicious. This is a definite keeper for my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe over a dozen times now because my family and I love it. It is a simple, healthy option which we use for a main dish, not a side dish. I do make a yogurt, cucumber, cumin, and mint sauce to go with it because the couscous can be a bit grainy, but don't let that take away from you trying it by itself. Also, there is a video that goes with this recipe that I love to watch each time because it is humorous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Nice and hot. Wondered if I should use more liquid. Other than that, it's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States