County Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
I recently found this recipe at all recipes.com, and was excited and pleased to see it, Ive been searching for a good corn dog recipe for years. Then I Tried it,what a dissapointment! the recipe calls for corn flour,and local stores dont sell it (unless they sell it by some other name) so that could be the reason for the poor results. The corn Dogs we made from this recipe were tasteless, and the texture was heavy and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I didnt make this either, but you can get corn flour at any mexican market...and I have found it Aldis grocery store also. it is sold as masa harina or masa flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I thought this recipe was going to be good, come on "county fair" quality - it was not. I found the batter to be too thick and when it fried it was too hard. I had corn flour in my cupboard, I had it for something else, so I used it, but the amount is so miniscule that I don't even think it would be missed. I will not keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Corn flour is masa harina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Corn flour can also be found in the Mexican section as "Masa Harina"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a quick and easy recipe that turned out wonderful. The kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Veneta, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made these in order to take a picture and it bordered on disaster. The batter was too thick so I thinned it - then the batter was not sticking - so I let it sit to thicken up. BTW - the corn flour that is listed as optional I do believe is corn starch. Maybe I just don't know how to fry corn dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I used namaste gluten free baking flour mix and it still turned out pretty tasty! I think you can use any gluten free baking flour mix that you have on hand and it will turn out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States