Country-Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This was the worst recipe I've made on allrecipes.com I followed the recipe exactly as stated, and all of the gravy dried up by the time it was done cooking. .. meat was extremely dry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I was very pleased that this came out extremely tender. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
My family loved it! My husband actually said "this is a keeper." The gravy was delicious, good flavor and not too strong. I actually used elk meat and have never had it come out so tender. I did not cook the meat for 5 minutes per side though, just for 5 minutes total. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Overall a very good dish. I would season the actual cube steak first before placing it in the flour. I also added onions to the gravy. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dietitian1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except for doubling the gravy and using about 1/2 the amount of pepper (we're not fans). 5 stars for flavor, ease and the basic concept. The leftover gravy stayed solid, paste-like, when reheated. I'll definitely be making this again and using some of the great suggestions here, and we'll see what can be done about that solid gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dzm388

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this recipe using the hint from another reviewer. I put sliced onion under the meat. Without that it really wouldn't have much taste at all. My Aunt Rose's recipe for Salisbury Steak is much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I tried this recipe and thought it was very bland and dry. The gravy and the meat dried out in the oven. Won't ever try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe! Only change I made was since there was lots of browned goodness left on the fry pan, I put some sliced onions in it after removing the meat and deglazed with a little of the broth before I stirred in the flour. Cleaned the pan and gave lots of flavor! Then I layered the onions in with the steaks an followed method exactly. It was absolutely delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very good! Better than K & W!! I will make it again and again! and.....I am a dude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsbaines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Well, photo of this dish looked great... nice looking rich gravy! I baked it at 300, being nervous about 350 for 2 hrs, and although the steak was nice and tender, the gravy was pasty looking, tasting, and had no flavor. We were fighting for the S & P! I was glad I seasoned the meat before I floured them. If I ever make this again, I'll add way less flour to the broth and season it well before pouring over the meat. A bit disappointed after the long bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States