Country-Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing! Wasn't thinking and made corn on the cob when I should have made potatoes or rice for all that delicious gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
i don't know if I've ever had cube steak before. This was I guess what you would call tender because I didn't need a knife but it was so dry and like styrofoam. It was not good. The flavor was good. The gravy was good. The texture of the meat ...not so much. I guess it was way overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now and don't know how I neglected to rate it. Made as written every time and we love how it turns out so tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Love this recipe! Very easy. I only made one change. I added about a half a packet of dry onion soup mix in with the flour and other seasonings. If you like a stronger flavor, you could add the whole packet. I choose not to use a fresh onion. To strong for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Little effort, HUGE pay-off. I only made a couple of these cube steaks (with double the gravy), so one hour in the oven seemed like plenty long enough, and it was. I set the table with dinner knives but they weren't even necessary. These were fork tender! I found I had to thicken the gravy on the stove top when I pulled this out of the oven with a flour and water slurry, but that was no big deal. I'm not sure I ever had cube steaks before tonight, but this recipe will compel me to buy them again. This, served with green beans and Mustard Mashed Potatoes, also from this site, made for a perfect, not to mention easy, make-again meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It was my first time making country-style steak. In the end it had decent flavor. I believe the recipe itself is probably pretty great, but there are things to watch out for. 1. Watch out for the amount of oil. Use what is necessary to fry - don't measure according to recipe - it's way too much. I more than doubled the recipe and as a result more than doubled the oil. Major mistake. :) 2. Don't do what I did and double the gravy recipe as suggested IN the PAN that is in the oven. 3. Also, I needed a lot more thickening agent for the gravy - again maybe because I misunderstood, but think before cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I gave it five stars earlier based on the gravy alone. This is a KEEPER! I told my fishing buddy about it and he want the receipt to impress his wife ( I USED PORK STEAK AND CUT IT UP INTO BITE SIZE PIECES) Cook time hour and half. You must double broth, check every half hour.THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was really tender, possibly TOO tender. Next time I'll try cooking it for about an hour, not two. It stuck to the bottom of the dish and fell apart when it was pried off the bottom. The flavor was good but I felt it really needed more liquid. All in all with a little tweaking it could be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! Made these for hubby last week but he insisted that he didn't want me to braise the steaks in the gravy so I just flipped the steaks an extra time, making sure they were cooked through, and served the gravy on the side with mashed potatoes and a garden salad, kind of like chicken fried steak but without the extra breading. I reheated the leftovers immersed in the gravy in the oven as in the original instructions and they were even better than when freshly fried. I do not expect him to object to the original method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is hands-down the best I have ever tasted. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I make this as often as I can and everyone just loves it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Amber
Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States