Country Style Green Beans with Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I give this recipe a five because I have grown up with something very similar to this one and have always loved it. Living in Kentucky for many years, I have eaten this hundreds of times except cooked with ham hocks. This time I didn't have any ham hocks (or other necks or parts on hand) and just added beef bullion instead to my water. It gives it a 'meaty' flavor without any meat or parts. I also add lots of chopped garlic (in place of powder) and several tsp. of Mrs. Dash salt-free seasoning. I also added a can of dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed, to make a complete meatless main dish with lots of protein and fiber. I served it with some long grain and wild rice cooked with mushrooms, onion, and peas and called it a meal! You can play around with this recipe a lot. It's designed to be versatile, to fit many tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I used 2 ham hocks in place of the turkey tails and 2 large cans of green beans with peeled new potatoes. I let the ham hocks simmer for several hours (about 4) before adding the beans (simmered about 30 minutes). Tasted great but next time I would use less garlic and less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Steph

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Considering this recipe uses canned vegetables, I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I have used a similar recipe for years (sans the potatoes). I think I will try that next time. I also use fresh green beans (can't take the taste of canned) and add chicken broth instead of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I've cooked it a few times and each time I use ham hocks in place of the turkey tail and it's my dad's favorite.. I will reduce the amount of pepper in the recipe next time simply b/c it gets a little hot for my grandmother and my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Nothing says Sunday like these Green Beans & Potatoes. I didn't have any turkey tails (not even sure where to find them) or hamhocks, so I added country ham and skipped the first 2 hours of cooking. The country ham is quite salty though, so there was no need to add more salt. Also popped in the oven as suggested to crisp up the taters. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Cooking for two: Substituted a smoked turkey wing and used about 3 cups frozen whole green beans. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTCOOKIN4TWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe was great ! i used smoked turkey legs and simmered it in my crock pot overnight by morning i removed them from the broth and took all the bones and skin off put the meat back in the pot i added all other items and it was done by 12 GREAT!! i made enough for 12 people they all loved it! It was simple enough for me and im not a cook at all! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
YUMMY! The only thing I changed was I used bacon ends and pieces to flavor the stock, then cut the pieces up and put them back in with the green beans and potatoes at the end OH AND I used fresh green beans instead of canned so I had to adjust the time. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Dameron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I have also served this recipe for years, except I use fresh or frozen green beans (2 bags) and 1 pound of skinless smoked sausage cut into coins. Add water or broth and put all ingredients in the pot at once and cook until the beans are tender. Try it sometime. It's less greasy than ham hocks, but oh so good! And even better warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States