Country Style Green Beans with Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
In our house, we call these hillbilly green beans. Only we use vegetarian bakon bits to give it that smoky salty taste. It cooks down rapidly and the kids finish the entire pot they love it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent. I think next time I will make some cornbread and wild rice. Seems like a dish that would make a great side in the holidays. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
i thinl this will be a great recipe but and more green beans and less of the turkey tails and if you want a meat use a chop steak marinaded in A1 sauce and cooked with the extra green beans and it is just fantastic! Love JERSEYsSHORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
needs a little bit more flavor. Added salt, pepper, a couple garlic cloves,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Be sure to use SMOKED turkey -- that's what gives it the flavor -- otherwise, it will be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I am just wondering, what is Turkey Tails. Never heard of this, of course I live in Canada, eh...lol...Sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I have also served this recipe for years, except I use fresh or frozen green beans (2 bags) and 1 pound of skinless smoked sausage cut into coins. Add water or broth and put all ingredients in the pot at once and cook until the beans are tender. Try it sometime. It's less greasy than ham hocks, but oh so good! And even better warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
YUMMY! The only thing I changed was I used bacon ends and pieces to flavor the stock, then cut the pieces up and put them back in with the green beans and potatoes at the end OH AND I used fresh green beans instead of canned so I had to adjust the time. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Dameron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe was great ! i used smoked turkey legs and simmered it in my crock pot overnight by morning i removed them from the broth and took all the bones and skin off put the meat back in the pot i added all other items and it was done by 12 GREAT!! i made enough for 12 people they all loved it! It was simple enough for me and im not a cook at all! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Cooking for two: Substituted a smoked turkey wing and used about 3 cups frozen whole green beans. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTCOOKIN4TWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States