Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Great potato recipe. I will serve with breakfast occationally, but usually serve with dinner. Adjust the seasoning to taste. Also, I sliced rather than cubed my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
These were really good. I made a big breakfast this morning and added these potatoes to our menu. Instead of using regular potatoes, I used some frozen hashbrowns I have had in my freezer for ages. I sauteed them in some butter and olive oil rather than shortening. I wish I would have sauteed some onions and bell peppers to go along with these, but didn't think of that until the potatoes were almost done. Of course I added a little dash of onion powder along with the garlic and gave it a hefty dose of freshly ground black pepper. Thanks for sharing. Hey "D"...these are right up your alley!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
excellent and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
We've had these twice now, and they've been popular both times. The first time I prepared a Hot ring sausage, put scrambled eggs inside the ring, and surrounded the ring with the potatoes. It looked spectacular, and wow'd my son's overnight guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I made these for breakfast today and they were very delicious. My boyfriend is not a big fan of potatoes that are cooked this way, he prefers hash browns. But you wouldn't have known it....he ate more potatoes than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
We had these wonderful potatoes tonight and my 12 year old, my hubby and I gave these a 5. I was told I can make these again *smile*. The seasoning was just right. Really like these. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I love this recipe. My kids love this recipe. It took some time but well worth it. I will never be able to buy store bought morning potatoes again. But at least with this recipe they are willing to help prepare them. I wouldn't change a thing. The cast iron skillet is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I found this quick and easy to make. The seasoning is just perfect. The whole family enjoyed them, even my 3 year old enjoyed them and she is a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I've been making these for years! The only difference is I use the leftover potato from when I make potato skins. After I scoop the potato out of the skins, I break it up slightly and refrigerate overnight. Then the next morning I use them to make fried potatoes. I prefer margarine instead of shortening to brown them and also add a little bit of parsley, oregano, and rosemary. It's a great way to use up the leftover potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These are terrific! My family devoured the entire pan tonight at dinner. The only changes I made were bacon fat instead of shortening, and I added 1/2 tsp. onion powder to the spice mix. Really fantastic flavor, color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States