Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good, been doing taters like this for years, but, along with the smell and flavor, I always add a small onion diced or sliced. Love onions in fried taters for breakfast or any meal. Crispy they are better than french fries with a hamburger off the grill. save some extra baked potatoes for good results..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I add a chopped onion to mine though...gotta have the onion!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I've been making fried potatoes this way for around 30 years and just love them. I do sometimes use bacon grease instead of shortening (sometimes I use a bit of both...I find oil to make the potatoes too oily) and I always fry in chopped onion in with the potatoes for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Excellent! My Mom fried potatoes like this and I have continued to do so. I use oil instead of shortening, and sometimes dice onion and cook along with the potatoes - the flavor is wonderful. This was a main staple in my family and was often served with pinto beans and cornbread for dinner. A real southern meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe was FANTASTIC! And very easy! I will definitely recommend this to my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I LOVED these potatoes.... I did use butter though in bottom of pan.... Taste was excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very dry was not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystarna
Living In: Rayne, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These were good, but a little bland for my taste. Next time I will add some onion and green peppers. Easy side dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
It's entirely possible to use just veggie oil to cook these. After years working for burger joint that hand-cut all their potatoes, a secret I learned is to thoroughly wash, drain and pat dry the potatoes before frying. This washes out the starch and gluten that make potatoes mushy. Do this and you can cook them in any fat you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I just LOVE this recipe!!! It is so easy and yummy! I like to make extra baked potatoes and then make these the next day with those. Onions and Green peppers make a great addition to them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States