Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I LOVED these potatoes.... I did use butter though in bottom of pan.... Taste was excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very dry was not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystarna
Living In: Rayne, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These were good, but a little bland for my taste. Next time I will add some onion and green peppers. Easy side dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
It's entirely possible to use just veggie oil to cook these. After years working for burger joint that hand-cut all their potatoes, a secret I learned is to thoroughly wash, drain and pat dry the potatoes before frying. This washes out the starch and gluten that make potatoes mushy. Do this and you can cook them in any fat you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I just LOVE this recipe!!! It is so easy and yummy! I like to make extra baked potatoes and then make these the next day with those. Onions and Green peppers make a great addition to them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have been eating and cooking these potatoes all of my life. Cast iron NOT non-stick is the only way to cook these right. If your potatoes burned, you cooked them too high or did not have enough fat, or both. They are best cooked in bacon grease. Mama always used onion and garlic salt. I use Morton's Natures Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraDLMerritt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I'm a senior citizen of German heritage, and was raised on this recipe in childhood. The only difference was that Mom would add a little more salt & pepper, would add about a cup of onion to the skillet(rough chop),and fry 3 or 4 bacon slices in another skillet till crisp, and sprinkle crumbled bacon on top potatoes when served. These days, I am more aware of the sat-fat issue, & substitute extra light olive oil for the shortening. It does taste the same, & still takes me back to my days on the family farm. Potatoes were served every day in one form or another, as we raised them in the garden, and they were cheap & plentiful. Thanks to GodivaGirl for bringing back those good old memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYWAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My fiance makes these whenever he cooks breakfast and they are great. He does add some diced onions and green peppers to the mix or onion powder. We eat these w/ ketchup on the side with our eggs and bacon. Makes for a filling breakfast. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Try microwaving the potatoes first. I use the baked potato mode. I do the two potatoes for frying four potatoes. And so on. This really speeds up your frying time. Don, Wagner, SD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I've been eating these potatoes all my life. My family is southern and my mom made them this way and so do I. Occasionally, I add chopped onions and green peopper. I serve them with hamburgers and baked beans for a fast supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States