Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I had never made this before and this was a very easy-to-follow recipe. A cast-iron skillet is a must with these. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandiebb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were great, followed the advice of another reader and used bacon fat instead of shortening. Turned out great! Next time going to try adding some onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved these potatoes they were so fast and easy. I used olive oil and butter because I prefer to try to keep things as healthy as possible, but I didn't change anything else. I loved the taste and love that this dish could go great as a side with a dinner entre or some eggs and bacon if you have leftovers the next day. I will definately save this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapeach247365

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This recipe was excellent - crispy outside, creamy inside. I substituted butter for shortening since I never have any but they still came out great. Will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
SOOOOOOO good!! Put in some rosemary too and added butter at the end. I didnt make enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These are terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I microwaved the potatoes for 3 minutes before frying. I fried bacon and then set aside the bacon for use later on. I used the bacon fat instead of the shortening to fry the potatoes until golden brown, adding onion and garlic powder. I added the bacon and chopped rosemary, salt and pepper. My husband was eating it out the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
you frying them in Shortning is the secret
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Love fried potatoes. Grew up on them and my family loves them as well. I always, always use bacon dripping to fry the potatoes and at the end when the potatoes are soft I cover them in a layer of chopped onions (we love onions and this just makes the dish...to us) and put the lid on to steam the onions. That way the onions do not burn when the potatoes are cooking and you have a great sweet oniony taste when you mix it all together and serve. Old standby at my house that can be served any time of the day. No matter what time we serve breakfast food if we want to dress it up we cook these kind of potatoes. Yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States