Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My wife and I first tried this about a year and a half ago and now we use this at least once a week. Excellent fried tatters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottsharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent! Everyone loved them. I had left over baked potatoes from dinner the night before so just peeled and used those. This really made preparing these quick and easy. The garlic powder and paprika is perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Pretty good. i think they were a bit greasy even though I drained them on paper towels. It tasted like there was something missing too. definetely a recipe I will keep. I just have to experiment with different spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amzaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was a really easy recipe! I followed the advice of previous reviews and microwaved the potatoes before frying them. I only gave them four stars because they were a little bland... Now I know for next time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These are almost exactly how I make my breakfast potatoes, except I figured it out by trial and error! I like to parboil the potatoes before frying if I have time or use leftover baked potatoes from the day before and slice or dice them up. It makes the potato softer and much quicker to fry in the pan. Instead of shortening I use 1/2 whipped butter and 1/2 vegetable oil. I also use season salt for the salt and red color. I might try the paprika next time with regular salt. Potatoes prepared this way taste just like the ones you get at the restaurants, but they are actually better because they never end up in the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These are great, thanks so much! My entire family loves these as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good but I probably won't make them again with the shortening. I don't usually have that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Made these just as directed and they were Great. We will be serving these for our big family get together on Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good basic fried potato recipe. I used butter in place of shortening and added some green onions and cheese to the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States