Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
excelent recipe. I will offer this tip, if you want really super results cube your potatoes, place them in a container and fill with water, place in frig for a couple of hours (The potatoes must be very cold) then procede to fry them as stated in recipe. I prefer bacon grease to fry the potatoes but that's my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
It definetly takes more than 15 min to fry potatoes from fresh, good basic recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These were awesome! I had to add additional shortening with each new skillet-fry, as not all potatoes would fit in my skillet. I found that without the addition, the new batch of potatoes will burn. This a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Good old comfort food here. I did modify just a bit based upon other folks' recommendations, but really not necessary. I microwaved the cubed potatoes for 7 minutes before frying. I added some onions and used minced garlic rather than garlic powder. And seasoned salt. Yummy. I loved cooking this in my cast iron skillet...potatoes got all yummy crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Very good recipe when jazzed up a bit. Used a mix of sweet potatoes and white potatoes with some onion powder and butter added to the ingrediants. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made this recipe this morning to go with eggs, and it was delicious! I used butter instead of shortening, and the potatoes turned out just fine. I also left the peel on the potatoes. That saves time, and the peel adds nutrients and a bit of flavor. The spices also give this dish wonderful flavor, so definitely make sure to use all of them. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I added grilled oninons and 1 tablespoon of flour to give it that southern taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryn2kuk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Quick and simple potato side dish. Followed the receipe although I did fry in peanut oil rather than shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I added carrots and used garlic not garlic powder. I also used butter not shortening and used a tablespoon more. It was wonderful. Add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bnoble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States