Country Style Barbecued Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I made this dish for supper last night and we really liked it. I made the sauce almost according to the recipe. I reduced the amount of ketchup to 3/4 cup, I added about 1 tsp of regular mustard as I didn't have quite enough dried on hand, and I added 2 cloves of minced garlic. Once the sauce had cooked for 15 minutes or so, I tasted it and the flavour of the vinegar was really strong....so I added about 1/4 cup of fancy molasses to balance the flavours. The end result was really good and very quick to make. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Good, but could stand to be a little more tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I found this simply too sharp. It has far too much vinegar. I'd cut the vinegar to 1/3 cup, the ketchup to 3/4 and add a bit of garlic. Although I'm not likely to make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
My family liked this alot! Used advise from other reviews to play with recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Delicious. Made this last night. The sauce came out a little runny but it worked well in the end. I had rice with it and since the sauce wasn't sticking to the chicken very well I was able to spoon extra sauce onto the rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very moist, very tender, very easy, but tasted too much like ketchup. Would appreciate it if Wolfwalker could adapt the sauce for a more barbeque flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Easy? Check. Delicious? Double Check. A Keeper? Definitely! I accidentally added too much pepper, but it turned out good in the end, it kicked the sauce up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A.Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Since I only cooked this recipe for one, I was wondering if it would be worth the effort. It definately was! The sauce did taste a little too much like ketchup so I added one more tablespoon brown sugar and one-eighth teaspoon white sugar. It made it sweet and tangy! So delicous! The chicken cooked perfectly. I will definately be making this recipe for others! It's so simple too! I paired it with steamed broccoli and served ontop of brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This recipe sounded interesting and yummy to me when I first read it, but it didn't taste like what I thought it would. It was different, but I liked it. I thought it would have a BBQ-ie taste, but it was more tangy to me...it was nice for a change of pace, but I probably won't make it that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hardin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Alma, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
So easy! and we had raves tonight. However, I have to admit I made some changes....after reading reviews, I used bottled barbecue sauce. I used chicken thighs with skins and cooked at 350 deg. for 40 minutes. It was so TENDER, tasty and made a delicious sauce that I spooned over the cooked chicken. Saved cleaning the barbecue grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States