Country Style Barbecued Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Really tender, moist and flavorful. I did add a dash of crushed red pepper and sriracha to the sauce because I like a little spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Pretty good! My boys couldn't get enough. Yes it was sweet and ketchupy but they dip all their chicken in ketchup anyways! I used thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe! It reminded me of the sauce my mother made years ago. As it cooked in the saucepan and in the oven my mouth was watering. I also added some chopped yellow pepper as she also used to put sweet bell pepper in hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
a decent starter, but would never eat it with out adding to the recipe. I added paprika, onion powder, xtra sugar, whiskey, molasses, garlic, Worcester, spicy mustard and dried thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I added a good amount fresh minced garlic and a few spices (onion powder, garlic powder, fresh ground black pepper, touch Liquid Smoke, Frank's Hot Sauce). This was very tangy--quite heavy on the vinegar and dry mustard. I would like to try this again but cut back on the vinegar/dry mustard by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Have made this twice now. Second time I used cider vinegar as suggested by some and I replaced the ketchup with chili sauce but only used1/2 cup. Added 2 TBSP of ketchup with the chili sauce. I also cut back on the sugar and added 2TBSP of molasses. Sauce was a bit thin so added a cornstarch slurry to thicken it up. Chili sauce seemed to give it an added kick. I did omit any additional salt as well. I used bone in, skin on chicken breasts and browned them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
i tryed this tonight it was oky but i was looking for it to look like bb i only did for pieces of chicken instead of six and i had a lot of sauce left i well try it again but use less sauce and maybe on the grill thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This has become a go-to recipe for us. It's got kick and I play with the sauce to give it some more. I don't use dry mustard, I use spicey mustard instead. I also add a little bit of hot sauce sometimes in different flavors. I also don't use onions because my boyfriend doesn't like them. Sometimes I use less ketchup than the whole cup. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I usually store the leftovers over a thin bed of rice. It's great warmed up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My husband and I loved this dish! I was quite pleasantly surprised by the very tangy BBQ flavor of the sauce (except when I went to taste the sauce while it was cooking and discovered the hard way that I'd forgotten to add the brown sugar. Oops!). I served it with mashed potatoes and corn and it was an excellent meal! I will definitely add this to my personal recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I made this the other night and my boyfriend and I enjoyed it. The chicken was very moist and tender and it had good flavor. I added a bit of garlic powder and cayenne, and next time will use a little bit less ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States