Country Style Barbecued Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was good, but like other reviewers, I thought it tasted a little too ketchupy. Next time I will modify the sauce ingredients to match a sauce for oven-barbecued beef that I've always liked from one of my old Betty Crocker cookbooks: 1/2 cup chopped onions, 3/4 cup ketchup, 1/2 cup vinegar (can use apple cider vinegar), 1 Tbsp. brown sugar, 3/4 cup water, 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1 Tbsp. prepared mustard, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. pepper. B.C. says to simmer it for 5 minutes, but I don't think it would hurt to simmer it for up to 15 minutes to meld the flavors. If anybody out there tries this, let me know how it turns out. Also, I baked the chicken for 25 minutes, turned it, basted it with the sauce, and baked it for an additional 20 minutes. It came out fork tender. I'm from the old school of cooking and still believe in cooking chicken parts and porks chops for at least 45 minutes total. They've always turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this tonight but did not have all the necessary ingredients. I used Dijon mustard and yellow mustard instead of mustard powder. I added a little hot pepper flakes, cumin, paprika, and chili powder to the rest of the ingredients. I also added a tsp of white sugar, to add a little more sweetness. It turned out delicious! I will definately be making this again! Very moist for baked chicken, and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
My husband liked this recipe, so I will probably make it again; but I ended up putting sauce from a bottle on my plate to eat it because I didn't think the sauce was all that great. And I agree with others....there is no way that this chicken is ready to eat in 25 minutes. Make sure to allow more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I loved this chicken. It was very good and didn't require getting the grill going which was nice. Just mix everything together and pop in the oven. Great with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I greatly enjoyed this recipe. My husband is very picky on what he eats and even he was very pleased. I did cut back on the ketchup and used only a 1/2 cup. It was great. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warsaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I put only half the ketchup and in its place I put 1/4 cup of Hoisin sauce. My husband is Chinese so we always have it available. It gave it a fantastic tangy taste. Definitely would have this again. You can get Hoisin sauce in the Asian section of the grocery store. Definitely in Chinatown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I liked the idea of not using bottled bbq sauce and this was very easy to throw together but it was too ketchupy as written. I upped the other ingredients to cut the ketchup while it was simmering. I would definitely make this again because it's simple and will try adding other spices to cut the ketchup some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I had such high hopes for this. I followed the recipe exactly. Just really tasted like baked chicken with ketchup on it. It's edible, but not something I think I would fix again. Shredded leftovers and made sandwiches the next night. Sorry! Just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This recipe BLEW me and my family away! I doubled the recipe for my extended family of 9 (plus lunches the next day). The only changes I made were using apple cider vinegar rather than white, I used Splenda brown sugar blend, and added a bit of molasses. After pouring the sauce over the chicken, I heated B&M country style beans in the pot to take on some of the flavor. Amazing! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2xMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Sue B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne Brewer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States