Country Style Barbecued Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
After I had made the sauce for this recipe I realized it would be no where near enough to cover the chicken and have extra sauce. My husband loves food that is extra saucey and I was afraid this would just turn out to be dry. I didn't want to add more ketchup because of the other reviwers warnings, so I added tomatoe sauce and lots of extra brown sugar. It turned out great, though I am sure was nothing like what it was supposed to be. I am only giving it two stars because I think the original recipe would result in dry, ketuchpy chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was good, but like other reviewers, I thought it tasted a little too ketchupy. Next time I will modify the sauce ingredients to match a sauce for oven-barbecued beef that I've always liked from one of my old Betty Crocker cookbooks: 1/2 cup chopped onions, 3/4 cup ketchup, 1/2 cup vinegar (can use apple cider vinegar), 1 Tbsp. brown sugar, 3/4 cup water, 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1 Tbsp. prepared mustard, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. pepper. B.C. says to simmer it for 5 minutes, but I don't think it would hurt to simmer it for up to 15 minutes to meld the flavors. If anybody out there tries this, let me know how it turns out. Also, I baked the chicken for 25 minutes, turned it, basted it with the sauce, and baked it for an additional 20 minutes. It came out fork tender. I'm from the old school of cooking and still believe in cooking chicken parts and porks chops for at least 45 minutes total. They've always turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
4 stars because it was tasty but not perfect. My husband loved this dish and I made it with spanish rice from this site and it was a great and easy meal. The sauce was a bit sweet but it was overall quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Reichart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I had such high hopes for this. I followed the recipe exactly. Just really tasted like baked chicken with ketchup on it. It's edible, but not something I think I would fix again. Shredded leftovers and made sandwiches the next night. Sorry! Just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I put this together ahead of time and put in fridge. (I couldn't be home) I left a note for my husband to pop it in oven and set the timer. He and the kids raved about it. I had leftovers the next day and it was very good. My husband hates chicken breast (he likes dark meat) and hates baked chicken even more. He has talked about it for a week. I am making it again tonight but with thighs. This recipie is so easy I am definitly going to use it regularly by the way I ommited onions because of the kids other than that I followed the recipie. Thank you Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
yummy....simple but yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zaitgha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This was okay. I added just a touch of liquid smoke to the sauce. I thought there was too much of a ketchup taste. This was easy to prepare but wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elkdag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe, didn't change much and wans very flavorful. I prepared this with "Best Spanish Rice" which created a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Easy, quick and now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
My whole family loved it and there were no leftovers. Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States