Country Style Barbecued Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I liked the idea of not using bottled bbq sauce and this was very easy to throw together but it was too ketchupy as written. I upped the other ingredients to cut the ketchup while it was simmering. I would definitely make this again because it's simple and will try adding other spices to cut the ketchup some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
WAY TOO SALTY! Between the ketchup, added salt and vinegar, the taste was not pleasant and very overpowering. DO NOT RECOMMEND
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This recipe BLEW me and my family away! I doubled the recipe for my extended family of 9 (plus lunches the next day). The only changes I made were using apple cider vinegar rather than white, I used Splenda brown sugar blend, and added a bit of molasses. After pouring the sauce over the chicken, I heated B&M country style beans in the pot to take on some of the flavor. Amazing! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2xMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I just made this and REALLY loved the flavor of the sauce. I never run out of ketchup, except today of course, so I had to use a little Honey French salad dressing to make up the difference, but i thought it was great. I was baking potatoes at the same time, so for the last 10 mins, i turned the oven up to 450 and I thought the sauce was fine-not too runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was pretty good. Although it did taste a little vinegar-ie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittylover25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was great. It's hard to get the hubby to eat chicken...but this he loved. He even went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
excellant recipe. next time i'll double the sauce. there was too much moisture in the chicken breasts and it made the sauce pretty runny, so i'm wondering if i added some cornstarch, would this solve the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Flavor was good but the sauce came out a little watery so it didn't stick to the chicken. Might try it again to see if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Way too much ketchup. I read the reviews prior to making this dish and used a touch less ketchup and it was still too much... and I love ketchup. I think this would be better with less ketcup, more brown sugar and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Schweinfest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States