Country Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was a very good recipe the only thing I did different was add cheese and precooked bacon to the mixture and on top. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I used this recipe as a platform, then switched it up completely and did my own thing! It turned out great! My filling consisted of sliced carrot, celery, green bell pepper, fingerling potatoes, onions, and fresh green beans. I ran most these items threw the food processor on the "slice" option to ensure they would cook at the same time. I added sliced zucchini, garlic, grilled jalapeno cheddar sausage, and corn to the last minute of the above sautéed mixture. I mixed cream of chicken soup, sour cream, and spices on the side, and then combined it with the veggie/sausage mix. I placed the mix into a 9x13 dish, covered with whole wheat bread crumbs, and baked at 350' for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This turned out extremely tasty. I added a can of pre-cooked chicken and I used low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Health Nut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Loved! With all the squash i have in my garden i needed a new idea. This was easy and good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Things I liked about this dish: The color of using both yellow & green squash. The crunch of dry topping. The punch of flavor from the herbs in the stuffing mix. (*I didn't miss the cheese found in most squash casseroles. To me, it was plenty "creamy" from the soup & s cream.) The b pepper & onion was also a great addition flavor- and color-wise. Things I will change: Mine ended up too wet/soupy. I'm thinking this was because I steamed my veggies in the microwave instead pan sauteing, which kept the liquid instead of evaporating it. I will either leave out the broth next time or maybe add an egg to firm up (and add protein). Overall, great recipe! I will try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Pittsburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This dish was so delicious! This ended up making a lot of leftovers, and between my boyfriend and I, we ate it all! The leftovers are even better the next day because it seems like the flavors combine better over night. I added extra cheese to mine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
YUM! I really enjoyed this. I used butternut squash instead of the yellow squash, and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My one year old wont eat any veggies. I made this without the red bell pepper and I added some chicken and he actually wanted seconds! This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Sorry, we did not care for this recipe. I made it as directed, except I used all zucchini because I did not have yellow squash on hand like I thought I did. If I were to suggest any changes, I might start with the soup, perhaps a chicken or cheese soup would work better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This recipe was a delightful surprise. I had my doubts when I saw cream of mushroom pared with zuchinni but it was delicious. I used herbed stuffing because I couldn't get the cornbread so I'm looking forward to having it when I do find it. Will be a regular dish on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiedoozie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States