Country Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
The soup is very good and makes a great gift. For single persons or small eaters, cut the recipe in half and put into a pint jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I made several batches of this soup mix this weekend. They turned out wonderfully. It is a very nice layered effect. Don't add tomatoes to the beans until they are tender. The acid in the tomatoes keeps the beans from getting any softer when they are added. I haven't made the soup yet, but I will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I bought a case of canning jars and put together 12 batches of this soup to send as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved it! My sister has even requested that I send some to her son at college because he loved the soup so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Great Gift Idea. Our family made these jars of soup for Christmas and I am still getting calls asking for the recipe. We changed the order of the ingredients to change the appearence and used Texas shaped pasta (we live in Texas) instead of alphabet shapes. We hot glued a dark green ribbon to the lid, vacuum sealed the jars and they are just so beautiful, people have them sitting around their homes as decorations. It tastes great too - kids & adults all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
There is this lady at the nursing home. She always talks about growing up at her ranch and such. I came home and found this recipe. I msde a jar for her and tied a bow around the top. She tried it and it brought a tear to her eye. She said how she couldnt beleive just how much it tasted like her mothers soup! Now i make it all the time! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This looks so beautiful in the jar. I am going to send a bunch of these out as Christmas gifts. These would also make great teacher's gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
Makes a great gift idea for kids to give as gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This makes a pretty gift. It lloked great in the jar. Of course, I made some for my family and my husband and I loved it. My little one loved it and my older one is picky so wouldn't try it. I think it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
I gave this to four friends as a Christmas gift. Each have made special effort to thank me and let me know how delicious it was. I have been able to refer them to Allrecipes.com with gusto!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
I had to try this out before I give it as a gift, and I have to say that this is the best soup I've ever made. The only thing I left out was the minced dried onions (I substituted 2 tsp onion salt), because I didn't have any, and it still tastes great. Its very pretty in the jar too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States