Country Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Zap
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I'm rating this a 5 on presentation only as I gave them away as gifts. Nobody seemed to make the soup and they left them up as 'pretties'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I received this soup as a gift for Christmas (after I recommended the site to my Aunt). My husband said it was the best soup he ever had, so am going to be making this myself, as well as giving it out as gifts too. The soup got thicker the longer it sat, so if you have leftovers like I did, I just added more chicken broth to thin it out. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I am getting ready to make this for gifts and wondering if anyone used bouillon cubes instead of granules? I would like to keep the recipe vegetarian and can't find veggie granules. So I am trying to figure out how many bouillon cubes are equal to 2 Tbls of granules. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I make "Gift in a Jar"s for people. This was, by far, one of the prettiest that I've ever made. Got raves from family, friends and coworkers on presentation. However, I always make recipes before I give them away. But this one I didn't. You see, I don't like soup at all. But I know a lot of people do, especially in the winter. I've never gotten a "bad" recipe from this website, so I figured "4 stars...GREAT!" Well, that must've been on presentation only, because numerous people have come up to me to tell me that the soup wasn't good and that the recipe wasn't correct. (I felt awful!) Apparently the liquid isn't adaquate at all. And when you do add enough liquid to make it "soupy" then it makes 2 VERY LARGE POTS of soup! Not bad if you are having company, but it should say that on the label. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
WOW! So pretty and easy to make! I can't wait to give these to my family on Christmas day!!! The layers of colors are so pretty!!! I used shell pasta instead of twists and it looks wonderful! Thanks so much Patti!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I just finished making 36 jars of this for holiday gifts! Very easy to do and looks great. I would suggest buying red lentils to add some more color - a nice contrast to green split pea. Also, the jar wasn't totally full at the top when I finished - I used elbow pasta, so I bet adding a little more of the twist pasta would fill up the jar a little better. The cost is under $2 for each jar and they look fabulous in the mason jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURDYPEARLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
A little too salty. I added 4 qts. of water, two cans of diced tomatoes and extra cabbage. I also added a little vinegar to it to brighten the flavor. A good soup. My 13 yr. old liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exchange, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivydale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Something I really liked about this recipe as compared to the Friendship Soup recipe is that it doesn't require so much prep work that the maker is wondering they they making it from a jar in the first place. I think the essence of "in a jar" recipes is supposed to be homemade convenience foods, something that can be put together with little effort. I do think that size varies too much in the ingredients and would probably opt for some other pasta shapes that are more uniform to the overall appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
We're trying recipes out to give as gifts this year. Although the recipe tastes good, this was not our favorite. I think the recipe called for too much rice and the size of the ingredients varied too much from tiny to large (the twist pasta). The Friendship soup in a jar is much more to our liking and is the one we're going with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Made this last week as a housewarming gift for a friend who just purchased her first house and she said this tasted just like her grandmother's soup used to, and she loved it. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States