Country Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I make "Gift in a Jar"s for people. This was, by far, one of the prettiest that I've ever made. Got raves from family, friends and coworkers on presentation. However, I always make recipes before I give them away. But this one I didn't. You see, I don't like soup at all. But I know a lot of people do, especially in the winter. I've never gotten a "bad" recipe from this website, so I figured "4 stars...GREAT!" Well, that must've been on presentation only, because numerous people have come up to me to tell me that the soup wasn't good and that the recipe wasn't correct. (I felt awful!) Apparently the liquid isn't adaquate at all. And when you do add enough liquid to make it "soupy" then it makes 2 VERY LARGE POTS of soup! Not bad if you are having company, but it should say that on the label. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
There is this lady at the nursing home. She always talks about growing up at her ranch and such. I came home and found this recipe. I msde a jar for her and tied a bow around the top. She tried it and it brought a tear to her eye. She said how she couldnt beleive just how much it tasted like her mothers soup! Now i make it all the time! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
The soup is very good and makes a great gift. For single persons or small eaters, cut the recipe in half and put into a pint jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
This soup looks very nice in the jar and I was skeptical as to how it would taste. It was really VERY good! The pasta was a little mushy though. I plan to make it for gifts this Christmas, but I may leave out the pasta all together. It made 8 good-sized servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINIVANMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Great Gift Idea. Our family made these jars of soup for Christmas and I am still getting calls asking for the recipe. We changed the order of the ingredients to change the appearence and used Texas shaped pasta (we live in Texas) instead of alphabet shapes. We hot glued a dark green ribbon to the lid, vacuum sealed the jars and they are just so beautiful, people have them sitting around their homes as decorations. It tastes great too - kids & adults all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Something I really liked about this recipe as compared to the Friendship Soup recipe is that it doesn't require so much prep work that the maker is wondering they they making it from a jar in the first place. I think the essence of "in a jar" recipes is supposed to be homemade convenience foods, something that can be put together with little effort. I do think that size varies too much in the ingredients and would probably opt for some other pasta shapes that are more uniform to the overall appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
We're trying recipes out to give as gifts this year. Although the recipe tastes good, this was not our favorite. I think the recipe called for too much rice and the size of the ingredients varied too much from tiny to large (the twist pasta). The Friendship soup in a jar is much more to our liking and is the one we're going with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I made several batches of this soup mix this weekend. They turned out wonderfully. It is a very nice layered effect. Don't add tomatoes to the beans until they are tender. The acid in the tomatoes keeps the beans from getting any softer when they are added. I haven't made the soup yet, but I will let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I bought a case of canning jars and put together 12 batches of this soup to send as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved it! My sister has even requested that I send some to her son at college because he loved the soup so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is really good soup. I made it for a few people for Christmas gifts and one friend said it was very delicious and she hadn't added any of the extras just made what was in the jar. I made some tonight and I did not use cabbage I added 4 carrots and 2 stalks of celery, I used chicken bouillon granules and brown rice and a can of diced tomatoes. The only thing I found was I had it on medium low for over an hour and when I tasted it the veggies and everything were still hard so I brouht the soup to a boil on medium high and let it boil for about 10-15 minutes. Everything was perfect but then the noodles were too soft and soggy. It also was a little on the salty side for me so next time I might just use 1 teaspoon of salt instead of 2 and add the noodles towards the end of cooking instead of at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States