Country Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This turned out really good. I added my own combo of seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This is a great bread. I didn't have whole wheat flour, so just used unbleached regular instead. Followed other suggestions and substituted sunflower seeds for poppy(personal preference). Used a coffee blade grinder to grind flax seed and it worked great. Bread is great as is, and if you can wait a day the honey flavor improves with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Wonderful. Thanks for the recipe and the helpful reviews. If you do this by hand and add sunflower seeds - like I did - add the seeds when you're just about done kneading, otherwise they just keep falling off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I didn't have any wholewheat flour so just used white bread flour. I also made a boo boo and put in 3 cups of flour so added an extra 1/2 cup of water and 2 tsps of honey (we like it sweeter). I also mixed the yeast with warmed water and, as my bread machine likes the wet ingredients first, let it sit in the bread machine with the other ingredients. This actually rose over the top of the pan and tastes like shop bought unsliced bread. Toasting the seeds really helps with the flavour. I will use this as my new basic bread recipe from now on and make alterations to make wholemeal, white, malted etc. Thankyou xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I got a brand new bread machine for Mother's Day today and decided to make this bread. It is goooone! Gobbled up in minutes. Moist and tender centre and crusty exterior. Honey did add a lot of sweetness so if you don't think you like a sweet taste with grains then halve the honey. I didn't have flax so I used sunflower seeds like another reviewer suggested and made sure not to add too many grains to overtake. I also added a couple of shakes of onion powder. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
For those not using a bread machine: While the seeds are toasting, blend the yeast into 1/4C of the water, (warmed), along with the honey, (warmed) and the salt. Wait for bubbles to form, and then add the remaining water and the oil. In another bowl mix the flour and the seeds, (I didn't wait for them to cool), and mix into the liquid to create a ball of dough. Cover with a towel and allow to rise in a warm place. The stovetop worked nicely, since the oven had been on. I left it for a half an hour and got a small loaf. I'm not sure whether it would have risen further had I waited longer, as I used regular white flour rather than bread flour, but under less hurried circumstances I'd have left it for an hour. From here I followed ItsJustaRide's baking directions. This was lovely toasted with butter for breakfast. My parents put jam on it and said it was very good, but I didn't think it needed any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Love this recipe! I have been using my bread machine on a regular basis since we put our house up for sale. Nothing invites a potential buyer into your house more than the smell of homebaked bread! I followed this recipe exactly, but played around with some of the suggestions other posters have made. In addition to using 4 T. honey, I toasted the sesame seed and sunflower seeds (substitution for poppy seeds as I had none) and added them after they cooled with the ground flax seed when the machine signaled. But the best addition I made was when I put some raisins and craisins in hot water to which I added some pure vanilla extract. When they plumped up, I added them with the seeds. The dough seemed slightly moist so I added some wheat bran. The dough looks small, but don't panic as it rises beautifully. This was the kind of hearty bread I have longed for, but never thought I could get out of a bread machine. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
The first time I baked this bread, it didn't rise quite enough, so I scalded it to 1.5 to suit my 1 1/2 lb loaf bread machine, and it turned out quite tasty. Will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Oh yum. The other reviewers are right, this bread is very pretty. As always, I made a few changes. First, I used 3 T ground flaxseed and toasted it with the other seeds. There's really no point in using whole flax seeds as most of the nutrients can't be extracted through chewing and digesting alone. Using ground seeds will still give you that robust flax flavor and all of the wonderful omega-3s. You can buy ground flax seed or you can grind your own in a food processor/blender. I added 2 t of raw sunflower seeds to make up for the missing crunch from the flax seeds. Instead of honey, I used blackstrap molasses (this has an unbelievable amount of vitamins and nutrients and is rather tasty), which may have given the bread a stronger flavor than with honey, but it was still delicious. I put all ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough cycle. At the end of the cycle, I put the dough in a very lightly greased clear glass loaf pan and baked it at 375 for 30 minutes. The crust was crunchy and flavorful, while the interior was moist and lighter than you might think. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is truly the best bread! I think you could add almost any seed type and have it turn out well. I stick to the recipe for the most part, but took the idea from someone else yo add more honey (I use 6 tsp.) I also add 1/4 c. raisens and 1/4 c. craisens (dried cranberries) following the directions that came with my bread machine. We love the fruit and nutty taste. I'd give this bread a 6 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suneelady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States