Country Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
My mom gave me her bread machine, and this was the first recipe I ever used in it. This was easy, used ingredients I already had on hand, and was delicious. I have made it a few times now, and use it for sandwiches. I will NOT buy bread from the store anymore, not with a great recipe in hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Made 2 loaves, 1 with roasted seeds, the other with raw seeds. I also increased the whole wheat flour to 1 cup, and decreased the bread flour to 1 cup. Very good breads! We prefer the nutty flavor of the one with the roasted seeds more! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
As plain untoasted bread, this was just okay. Toasted and turned into BLT's, this made an awesome sandwich! I think I'll only make this when we are planning on BLT's. For every-day, a simple wheat bread suits us better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SODABEAR
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
this bread really rocks! i ate almost half a loaf when it came out of the oven. the only thing i added was some dough enhancer you can buy from www.kitchenresource.com it works like gluten, but preserves your homemade bread longer and really enhances it. the texture is better and doesn't crumble when you slice it. this batch i ran out of flax seed so i used flax seed meal so we'll see how it turns out. i like to add sunflower seeds too. this recipe is pretty versatile as far as seeds. i make in bread machine, starting with warm water, yeast and honey and let the yeast come to life b4 adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I have made it 5 times now in two weeks. I can't keep it in the house. I love it. I don't think I will ever go back to reagular wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITNYR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Really really good. To be honest, when it was mixing I didn't think I would like it-thought it would be too crunchy/seedy and it smelled too strong-but it was absolutely delicious! I used sunflower, flax, & sesame seeds and used bread machine to mix, let rise in loaf pan and baked in my oven at 340 for 28 mins (my oven runs hot though). Perfect. Made the BEST toast the next morning too! Thanks-a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This bread is sinful!!! I am new to baking bread - in both a machine and conventional. I changed a few things - added some wheatgerm - extra salt - extra yeast - abit more water. I also eyeballed the measuring of the honey and oil (used olive). Anyway, this bread recipe will be used at least 3 times a week - maybe 5!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Delicious. The crust came wonderfully crispy while the inside was soft and tender. I only had sesame seeds and poppy seeds on hand, which really gave the bread another level of flavor that wasn't overpowering but much more interesting than plain! Also, I had to sub light corn syrup for the honey, which seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is a really great loaf bread; perfect for sandwiches, heavenly as toast, great for grilled sandwiches, and just right when you simply want a fresh slice to hold some honey or butter. It doesn't need any changes - you can make it just as directed and it will come out perfectly every time. If you want a variation, however, it is perfectly amenable to tinkering. I frequently add oat bran, diastatic malt, and/or sunflower seeds. I often change the bread flour to a mix of plain and whole wheat flour (although when I do this, I add a tablespoon of wheat gluten to the mix, and increase the yeast quantity to 2 1/2 tsp.) For a sweeter version, I simply increase the honey and add a handful of currents. I bake almost all the breads my family eats; traditional, artisan, flat breads, rolls, braids, you name it. That being said, this is the best "everyday" loaf recipe I've come across, and I thank Donna Beth for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was really good, the taste was great, but I thought it was a little dry. My husband would give it 5 stars, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States