Country Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My husband and I liked this bread. I did not use bread machine, but instead mixed yeast with honey and then added that to flour and seed mixture, as other users have suggested. I did toast the seeds and I think that gives the bread much better flavor. I changed the recipe a bit tough. I added about 1/4 cup of buckwheat flour and added some toasted pumpin and sunflower seeds to the mix. I doubled the recipe and made two small loaves. I would make this bread again. I baked it at 350F for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This bread turned out great. Super easy. I toasted more seeds than needed, then just froze the extras for use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Finally a healthy bread that is not so heavy that you could use it as a door stop. I did double the recipe because I have a 3 lb machine, I also used some molasses, wheat gluten and buttermilk. Good texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hakeber
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is my staple bread recipe which I have used all the time for several years now. It is splendid plain, but even better with cranberry and walnuts. I also add raisins and grated carrot/apple recently with a teaspoon of cinnamon. I have this recipe printed. x3 to make 2 loaves or one big loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hakeber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious! I used sunflower seeds instead of the poppy seeds and ground the flax. Doubled the recipe and did it all by hand. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
i love this bread. it is about the only one i make. but it does come out a little on the dry side for me. i will try a shorter cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very good tasting bread... the toasted seeds do give it a nice flavor... the only problem I have with this recipe is it makes a smaller loaf... very good tasting though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe as is! My kitchen has 2 rules: if you are making something good, double the recipe, and clean up. I don't use a bread machine, I use a stand mixer with a dough hook. Do toast the seeds, and for that matter, anytime you use nuts or seeds, in salads, brownies, pecan pie... toast them, adds a wonderful flavor you can't get any other way. I use a slow rise, all day or overnight technique. For the loaves I made yesterday (gone now!) I doubled + some. Started with 1 3/4 cups water. Put half of that in a cup, microwaved till temp is 110 f. Stir in honey, and stir in only 1/2 teaspoon yeast. Let it proof an hour or 2 until foamy on top(this makes a bottle last a long time). Meanwhile, mix whole wheat flour, and about 3/4 cup rolled oats, salt and oil, and the other half of the water in the mixer, knead with dough hook about 5 min. Toast seeds, mix in. Add proofed yeast to mixer, add bread flour as much as needed until dough isn't sticky, and streches when pulled. Gather dough into ball, spread 1/2 tsp oil outside of dough and inside of bowl, let rise at room temp for hours- overnight or all day. I keep it in the microwave, it's draught free, and the cats can't get at it... If a faster rising is needed, remove dough from microwave, nuke a cup of water until the water is hot, keep hot water in microwave, return dough. When dough is doubled in volume, punch down, shape into 2 loaves, in buttered loaf pans, or freeform, bake 375f about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used this recipe to make my very first homemade bread and it was a huge success! My son told me I should start selling it at farmer's market....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Try some other bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States