Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this with coconut milk and the recipe tasted fine but was far too runny for my taste. Regular milk would probably work better or perhaps less or no milk at all. I would try again but tweak the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe! It was so simple and the whole family loved it. It is a very "forgiving" recipe if you don't have the exact ingredients or if you want to change things up a bit. I tweaked it just a little: I made my own gravy since I didn't have any on hand; the only cream soup in my pantry was cream of potato so that is what I used; I sauteed the onions for a few minutes prior to building the casserole AND I went a little heavier on the cheese than called for. Still, it is a GREAT basic recipe and the combination of flavors is delicious. I think this is our new favorite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great use of leftover ham! Followed recipe exactly, except I omitted the onion. Tasted great but I wouldn't call them "scalloped potatoes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I would not recommend the cream of celery for this recipe. I made this tonight for Christmas dinner and my whole family agreed that the cream of celery was a mistake. It ruined the whole dish for me. It was not terrible but not how I hoped it would taste. I will not make it again this way. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made this for the family, substituting 1 large can of Campbells cream of chicken soup for the cream of celery soup and chicken gravy as that was what I had on hand. There were no leftovers! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made these last night and they were fabulous. Followed directions exactly and they turned out beautifully. Only had to make 1 change and I don't know how it affected the flavor. Couldn't find any chicken gravy, Campbell or otherwise, and had (?) to use cream of chicken soup. Like I said, I don't know how this affected the flavor but they were good to me. Reminded me of the ones my mom used to make when I was a kid. I think, though, because I had to use the chicken soup, I should have added more milk, maybe 1/2 cup. Definitely worth the trouble of peeling potatoes and the other preparations. Being a widower and living alone, I have to figure out how to half this recipe so I won't have so many leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I used a large can on cream of chicken soup instead of the two smaller cans (college student - anything to save costs is great!), and it turned out really well. I was rushed for time, so I also turned the oven up to 400 degrees and it was fine with that - wish I would have taken the time to let the cheese crisp up though. Very successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
~Amazing~ Made as directed... Will be making these OFTEN~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Tried this and didn't like it. Definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was very good. One of the best scalloped potatoe recipes I have ever had. My family loved! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States