Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is a very good rendition of scalloped potatoes. I followed the recipe, but my potatoes still came out undercooked, so next time I will raise my oven temperature and cook a little longer. Still liked the taste and texture of cooking these instead of buying a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaythecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We thought this was very good. I had 'cream of celery' soup, but not the chicken gravy. So I used 1\2 and 1\2 and a packet of 'chicken gravy mix' with the cream of celery. I used two extra potatoes. [I really don't think that made a difference.] I cooked it for the time stated and it was perfectly done and very creamy. Will make again, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
It takes a great recipe to inspire you to make a great dinner! I made a couple of substitutions... I had Cheddar Cheese Soup & Turkey gravy in my pantry. I also added to the chopped onion, a few stalks of chopped celery and a minced clove of garlic. Followed the recipe and this was delicious! I think the gravy really adds a very appealing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good for winter supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I really liked this simple recipe. But warning it does make alot! I had to throw away half of it cause we couldn't get through it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is by far the best recipe for Scalloped recipes. I made my own chicken gravy(1 1/4cups of water, 2 chicken bouilon cubes and 1/2 c Flour) and I used about 5 c of Cheese and Turkey. My husband loved it. It was very cheesy and gooey. MMM good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I loved this recipe! I didn't have any chicken gravy and I was too lazy to make it by scratch so I just used cream of chicken soup and it was perfect! Big hit with all the visitors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Casselton, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was very good will be making again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe! I modified mine a bit, though. I didn't have any cream of celery soup or gravy, so I used a can of cream of chicken soup, and made my own gravy. 1 1/4 c. cold water, 1/2 c. flour, and 3 chick. bouillion cubes. I arranged half of the potatoes in the bottom of a 9x13 pan, sprinkled 1/2 of the ham, and a few of the onions, and then topped with 1 c. cheese. I repeated with the remainder of the potatoes and other ingredients, then topped with another cup of cheese and carefully poured the milk, gravy, soup mixture over all of it. I covered and baked at 400 degrees for 30 min, then removed the foil and baked at 375 degrees for another 30 minutes. HUGE HIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I loved this recipe and my family came back for seconds. I substituted Campbells Cheddar soup for the gravy and it turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States