Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was okay as written, but a bit too runny. I used the slicing side of my grater to get uniformly thin pieces and they were thoroughly cooked, but the taste was just average. If I make it again, I will definitely cut down on the liquid and add spices, perhaps some grated white pepper, oregano and garlic. With all the sodium in the recipe, I will not add any salt. I will also use extra sharp cheddar or some other stronger tasting cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I thought these were really good. I used my food processor to slice up the potatoes so they were nice and thin. I make exactly except I used the cheddar cheese soup instead. I did cook covered an additional 15 minutes as the potatoes needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was delicious, and I didn't change a thing! A great use for leftover ham. Will definitely be makinng again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I loved this recipe and my family came back for seconds. I substituted Campbells Cheddar soup for the gravy and it turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe! I modified mine a bit, though. I didn't have any cream of celery soup or gravy, so I used a can of cream of chicken soup, and made my own gravy. 1 1/4 c. cold water, 1/2 c. flour, and 3 chick. bouillion cubes. I arranged half of the potatoes in the bottom of a 9x13 pan, sprinkled 1/2 of the ham, and a few of the onions, and then topped with 1 c. cheese. I repeated with the remainder of the potatoes and other ingredients, then topped with another cup of cheese and carefully poured the milk, gravy, soup mixture over all of it. I covered and baked at 400 degrees for 30 min, then removed the foil and baked at 375 degrees for another 30 minutes. HUGE HIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I added chopped celery and used turkey gravy instead of chicken also used american cheese instead of what is called for. That all went very well but recipe turned out a little too moiste for my taste. Next time I make it I'll decrease the milk, or omite it all together. Baked it for an hour before I put the cheese on which browned very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was something I did not care for. I used red onion. . which I use in everything but the color from the onion cooked out and It looked like slimy worms! ha. . The taste was a little bland as well. Next time, I'll use the ones from a box. They're much better! I also had a problem with the cooking time of the potatoes. I cut them very thin too. Probably won't try again . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was very good will be making again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is a very good rendition of scalloped potatoes. I followed the recipe, but my potatoes still came out undercooked, so next time I will raise my oven temperature and cook a little longer. Still liked the taste and texture of cooking these instead of buying a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaythecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We thought this was very good. I had 'cream of celery' soup, but not the chicken gravy. So I used 1\2 and 1\2 and a packet of 'chicken gravy mix' with the cream of celery. I used two extra potatoes. [I really don't think that made a difference.] I cooked it for the time stated and it was perfectly done and very creamy. Will make again, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States