Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I took out the ham and replaced it with some bacon bits and then used one can of Cream of Mushroom and one can of Cream of Celery. I thought using some of the vegetarian bacon strips would be a good replacement also but I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
VERY GOOD! I substituted cream of celery with cream of mushroom and 1 cup of water with a chicken bullion cube because i did not have gravy and it was really good. added salt and pepper. Also added about a cup of shredded cheddar and cooked a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was just wonderful! I've been making scalloped potatoes all my life and this is now my go-to recipe. I doubled the recipe, substituted cream of chicken soup for the gravy, threw in some red bell pepper, a couple of dashes of hot sauce and the sour cream someone else suggested. Had no cheese, so left it out. Used buttered bread crumbs instead. It was still delicious. Three of us went through an 11 x 15 pan in two days. I use my salad shooter to slice the potatoes and grate the cheese. I don't know how anyone gets along without one of those things. Other comments about baking time are correct. Scalloped potatoes should not be crunchy or even al dente. Allow at least an hour for baking and more if you double it. Thank you, Campbell's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CREEPER00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
It took awhile but it turned out wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I was looking for a homey, comfort food to accompany the highest rated slow cooker pot roast recipe also found on this site. Because I was using it as a side dish I left out the ham and it was still amazing. I used my mandoline to evenly and thinly slice both the potatoes and the onions so it cooked evenly and perfectly. As many stated, it tasted even better the second day and my 16 year old boy literally licked his plate. This will be a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this dish last Christmas for a family get-together. It was a big hit and a few cousins asked for this recipe. I substituted the chicken gravy with a can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken Soup. Also, I didn't put as much diced ham as the recipe calls for. I only added an 8oz. package and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This passed the test! Everyone loved it! We used leftover Christmas ham and it worked well. I did add an additional 2 potatos to the batch and am glad I did. It would have been very moist without them. I used a mandoline to cut all of the potatos in uniform slices so my dish cooked in the exact time as listed. The only thing I would do different is dice my onions instead of chop...some of the onions were a little crunchy. This will go into the keeper pile! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe!!! I really wondered if the celery soup and gravy was going to work but my very fussy grandson loved it, as did my husband!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My children and I made this today for Christmas dinner. Prep time was a little longer than 15 minutes per batch. Substituted cream of asparagus for celery because that's all the only open market had. Also used cream of chicken soup instead of gravy ( store supplies again!). It turned out perfect in flavor, consistency and apperance. Made double batch for about 14 people and it all dissapeared. We'll definitely make it again and will also try the original recipe. ( Kids enjoyed helping as well and were very proud of their accomplishment!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States