Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
I love contry gravy and this one is really good. The texture and taste is better if you let it sit about 15 minutes and reheat and serve. Thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
This is, by far, the best gravy I have EVER had! And I live in West Texcas!! Easy and colorful and rich. Try adding some color with some red bell pepper or orange (if you can get them cheap) We buy our peppers cheap and freeze them after cutting. Also, green onions are great with this gravy! It's not just for breakfast, either!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is absolutely awesome. I am not a sausage gravy person...white sauce and crumbled Jimmy Dean just don't turn the crank, ya know? But my family loves it so I tried this recipe. It is out of this world. I used sage flavored sausage and dried thyme...also added a pinch of dried ginger as was suggested. I did cut the onion and pepper down significantly...i used 1/4 c red banana pepper and 1/2 c finely chopped onion...don't skip the parsley at the end...it is a nice touch. I like the heat of the cayenne, but that is up to you. I also substituted an envelope of McCormick Sausage Gravy mix for the flour. Be prepared to add some extra milk. I served with homemade granola, fresh fruit and yogurt (made me feel better about serving the heart attack biscuits). This is now in my brunch repertiore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
THANKS! GREAT RECIPE......I've been trying to make sausage gravy for 14 years (city girl marries country man) and finally my husband gave me a standing ovation after I put this recipe on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
this is the best gravy we've ever had! i didn't have a green bell pepper but it was good without it. i had to use dry herbs, so i lessened the amounts (1/3 tsp dried sage & half that amount of dried thyme because it's more potent) and added them earlier in the cooking. just add a sprinkle of parsley. 1/4 cup is way too much for my taste. if i ever get fresh herbs, i'll use them in this recipe. i'm sure it's even better with fresh herbs. this recipe tastes amazing. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This would have been a GREAT supper, except I let my husband get the SPICY sausage instead of regular sausage. It was so hot that even HE wouldn't eat it, but you could taste the underlying gravy and it was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TATTOOKITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
This was very good, except that I found that the crushed red pepper made it VERY spicy. I recommend leaving that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Excellent! I use this recipe soley now whenever I make sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
My family all loved this recipe.We will make it often.The chiken boulion and herbs really gave it just the right flavor. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Too many extra seasonings for me. My husband and I prefer the traditional southern sausage gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States