Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this for my kids for breakfast before school today. They loved it! I use a different recipe usually but decided to try and see if all the extra ingredients made a difference..and it does!! Even my picky daughter said she liked it even though she knew there were peppers in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
The best I have tasted... I made with soy milk and turkey sausage, tasted great and had very little fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Beautiful recipe! Way better than the usual pasty white with pepper flecks stuff that I usually encounter! Simple process with an exceptional outcome! Thank you so much for sharing! I had neighbors coming over to see what smelled so good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brwbailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is absolutely awesome. I am not a sausage gravy person...white sauce and crumbled Jimmy Dean just don't turn the crank, ya know? But my family loves it so I tried this recipe. It is out of this world. I used sage flavored sausage and dried thyme...also added a pinch of dried ginger as was suggested. I did cut the onion and pepper down significantly...i used 1/4 c red banana pepper and 1/2 c finely chopped onion...don't skip the parsley at the end...it is a nice touch. I like the heat of the cayenne, but that is up to you. I also substituted an envelope of McCormick Sausage Gravy mix for the flour. Be prepared to add some extra milk. I served with homemade granola, fresh fruit and yogurt (made me feel better about serving the heart attack biscuits). This is now in my brunch repertiore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Personnally I would have added a dash of ginger and oregano to really bring out the heat. To me it tasted somewhat bland and I wouldnt waste my time with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
THANKS! GREAT RECIPE......I've been trying to make sausage gravy for 14 years (city girl marries country man) and finally my husband gave me a standing ovation after I put this recipe on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
wow, this was truely amazing!! I didn't have green peppers or fresh herbs so i just used dried herbs and it was still amazing!! I also added a bit of maple syrup (because I like it) and didn't use chicken stock (only milk) I was hesitant to put the butter and flour in with the pork sausage (I usually make a roux seperate) but I thought I'd give it a go and well the results I will say again... amazing!! This is the only sausage recipe i'll be using from now on... thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
yummy!!!!!! soooooo good with mashed potatoes and corn! even my 13 month old baby loves this meal. so easy and quick. Thankyou very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOWNSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bromley, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This recipe is so good! We're Canadian and up here you won't find biscuits and gravy in restaurants. My husband has been searching for a while to find a recipe that we like. This is by far the best one yet, it's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Delicious! Turned out much thicker than I expected, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States