Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was good, but I thought the sage/thyme combo was too much. Next time I'll leave them out and just do white & black pepper, garlic & onion powder (and the real thing). I had to change the recipe a bit due to allergens in the bouillon cube. So I used low-sodium chicken broth and cut down the milk by the same amount. Also, I thought 1 lb of meat would be way too much, and I was correct. I only used 1/2 lb for a 4-serving recipe. This makes a lot more than 4 servings (over biscuits). I served them with seasoned scrambled eggs. I use the breakfast sausage recipe from Lee Fogle (it's awesome...and where the sage should be, IMO) made with 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 ground sirloin. This is a great base recipe, though. I cannot have pre-made gravy due to the allergens, so this is a great one to make from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very good, however to turn this into a 5 star I would reduce the chicken bullion to 1 cube, not two. Also use 1 cup skim milk and 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2 for better flavor and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this for my kids for breakfast before school today. They loved it! I use a different recipe usually but decided to try and see if all the extra ingredients made a difference..and it does!! Even my picky daughter said she liked it even though she knew there were peppers in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
The best I have tasted... I made with soy milk and turkey sausage, tasted great and had very little fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Beautiful recipe! Way better than the usual pasty white with pepper flecks stuff that I usually encounter! Simple process with an exceptional outcome! Thank you so much for sharing! I had neighbors coming over to see what smelled so good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brwbailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is absolutely awesome. I am not a sausage gravy person...white sauce and crumbled Jimmy Dean just don't turn the crank, ya know? But my family loves it so I tried this recipe. It is out of this world. I used sage flavored sausage and dried thyme...also added a pinch of dried ginger as was suggested. I did cut the onion and pepper down significantly...i used 1/4 c red banana pepper and 1/2 c finely chopped onion...don't skip the parsley at the end...it is a nice touch. I like the heat of the cayenne, but that is up to you. I also substituted an envelope of McCormick Sausage Gravy mix for the flour. Be prepared to add some extra milk. I served with homemade granola, fresh fruit and yogurt (made me feel better about serving the heart attack biscuits). This is now in my brunch repertiore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Personnally I would have added a dash of ginger and oregano to really bring out the heat. To me it tasted somewhat bland and I wouldnt waste my time with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
THANKS! GREAT RECIPE......I've been trying to make sausage gravy for 14 years (city girl marries country man) and finally my husband gave me a standing ovation after I put this recipe on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
wow, this was truely amazing!! I didn't have green peppers or fresh herbs so i just used dried herbs and it was still amazing!! I also added a bit of maple syrup (because I like it) and didn't use chicken stock (only milk) I was hesitant to put the butter and flour in with the pork sausage (I usually make a roux seperate) but I thought I'd give it a go and well the results I will say again... amazing!! This is the only sausage recipe i'll be using from now on... thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
yummy!!!!!! soooooo good with mashed potatoes and corn! even my 13 month old baby loves this meal. so easy and quick. Thankyou very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOWNSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bromley, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States