Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The addition of the onions, peppers, and spices/seasonings really made it stand out. I did use less flour because of my own personal preference to have gravy that is not so thick, and I would suggest not adding any extra salt, at least not until after adding the chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Ijole! I didn't add the bell pepper because the organic ones are too expensive and the regular ones are on the Dirty Dozen list. I also didn't add the chicken buillion(?) because I can't find any buillion without MSG, cubes that is. There is a brand called Kitchen Trends that is liquid, but I didn't think liquid is the reason it was being added to this recipe. I used a local grocery store chain, HEB, brand sausage that had sage in it rather than adding it at the end. I used cayenne pepper instead of the pepper flakes because we didn't have any pepper flakes (to taste, I like it spicy). My wife made homemade buttermilk biscuits from a different recipe. I also didn't add the parsley but did add the thyme as was suggested...At any rate, it was awesome. Next time, I may try adding less flour or more milk to make the gravy a little less thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good - I made this just as the recipe called for, without reading other reviews. Like others, I think I will cut back on the pepper and onion, leave out the red pepper flakes, and increase the milk when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Loved it but I suggest cook less sausage or double up on everything else. I ran out of sage so did not use. I also chose to not add any spices since the pork is a tad on the spicy side. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe had a really good flavor but I thought it was too salty. If I make it again, I will eliminate 1 of the chicken boullion cubes to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
SOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was amazing! I made this when my family went camping and I received the best compliment from my little brother (15), "This is the best breakfast I've ever had". Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is really good stuff. Followed recipe exactly. Three of us finished four servings, not a drop left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Tried this tonight, very good, but I left out green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was really good. I had to add a bit more milk, it was very thick. Also I tasted it before adding the second chicken boullion cube and it was already salty, so I omitted the other. Served it over homemade biscuits, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States