Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good - I made this just as the recipe called for, without reading other reviews. Like others, I think I will cut back on the pepper and onion, leave out the red pepper flakes, and increase the milk when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Loved it but I suggest cook less sausage or double up on everything else. I ran out of sage so did not use. I also chose to not add any spices since the pork is a tad on the spicy side. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe had a really good flavor but I thought it was too salty. If I make it again, I will eliminate 1 of the chicken boullion cubes to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
SOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was amazing! I made this when my family went camping and I received the best compliment from my little brother (15), "This is the best breakfast I've ever had". Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is really good stuff. Followed recipe exactly. Three of us finished four servings, not a drop left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Tried this tonight, very good, but I left out green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was really good. I had to add a bit more milk, it was very thick. Also I tasted it before adding the second chicken boullion cube and it was already salty, so I omitted the other. Served it over homemade biscuits, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
A really good country gravy recipe. For the best effect, really crumble up that sausage as it cooks and let it burn a tad. Not smoky burning mind you but just this side of burned. Then make the gravy. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
OMG!!! This gravy is amazing. The color, the spices, makes it taste like it came from a 5-star restaurant. I have never reviewed a recipe before but this one deserves it. I never knew what the "flour" taste really was until I compared this to other recipes and now I completely understand. I think the secret ingredient would be the boullion cube. I cut the recipe in half since there are only 2 of us and the only changes I made was I used 1 beef boullion cube because that was all I had on hand, I skipped the salt, and I made it without sausage so that I could put it on country fried steak. Excellent, will be in the regular rotation in our house, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States