Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Cookie 2-2-10 My daughter requested sausage gravy for a family brunch I had never had it and did not want to eat it. After some research I felt this sound like this the best recipe. The only change I made were I used red and green peppers, dry herbs, no salt, and granules chicken (it has salt).The funny thing about that morning I would not taste the gravy w hile cooking it, my daughter before I was ready to serve had to taste the gravy. Ten people started raving about how good was sausage gravy not only did I eat some , but also my son who do not eat PORK!! It is now an official family keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This bascic recipe was amazing!. Just did not add a whole green pepper or onion. I used garlic powder to taste and did not use fresh herbs but used sage and thyme dried. Forgot the parsley. Do not need to add as much as called for using dry. Diffentely did not use the chicken bouiilon as this was added just for salt. Adjusted salt, pepper and hot pepper to taste. I have only had this gravy in the South and this was pretty close to the best or better than I had down there. Thanks again. I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I had to try this recipe because I always just cook my sausage then add a little butter, flour, and milk as needed and thought this would be a nice 'venture', as it was, but overall I do prefer my less complex taste. I will probably make this again with less red pepper, omit the sage and thyme and use only one bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The addition of the onions, peppers, and spices/seasonings really made it stand out. I did use less flour because of my own personal preference to have gravy that is not so thick, and I would suggest not adding any extra salt, at least not until after adding the chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Ijole! I didn't add the bell pepper because the organic ones are too expensive and the regular ones are on the Dirty Dozen list. I also didn't add the chicken buillion(?) because I can't find any buillion without MSG, cubes that is. There is a brand called Kitchen Trends that is liquid, but I didn't think liquid is the reason it was being added to this recipe. I used a local grocery store chain, HEB, brand sausage that had sage in it rather than adding it at the end. I used cayenne pepper instead of the pepper flakes because we didn't have any pepper flakes (to taste, I like it spicy). My wife made homemade buttermilk biscuits from a different recipe. I also didn't add the parsley but did add the thyme as was suggested...At any rate, it was awesome. Next time, I may try adding less flour or more milk to make the gravy a little less thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good - I made this just as the recipe called for, without reading other reviews. Like others, I think I will cut back on the pepper and onion, leave out the red pepper flakes, and increase the milk when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Loved it but I suggest cook less sausage or double up on everything else. I ran out of sage so did not use. I also chose to not add any spices since the pork is a tad on the spicy side. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe had a really good flavor but I thought it was too salty. If I make it again, I will eliminate 1 of the chicken boullion cubes to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
SOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was amazing! I made this when my family went camping and I received the best compliment from my little brother (15), "This is the best breakfast I've ever had". Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States