Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I didn't have the parsley or thyme, but I made it anyways and it's super super yummy. Even my 12 year son said "oh man mom, this is better than the restaurants"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I was born and raised in the south and I have tasted some good country gravy and this gravy is the best! I was looking for a typical gravy recipe when I found this one. The herbs and spices intrigued me so I thought I would branch out...this is my new country gravy recipe. I altered it to make it veterinarian and it was still excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was just okay and nothing I would make again. With all the "extras" added, I feel to took away from the old fashioned country sausage gravy taste. I prefer basic sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LDH
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Delicious! Cut back red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp and thought the kick was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDH
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
5 Stars, delicious! We have a freezer full of Elk so I used ground elk instead of the pork. I buy the dry sausage seasoning mix from our butcher, it's the same seasoning he puts into the pork for sausage. I cut the crushed red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. because it's already in the seasonings I mix in the meat. Anyone having a lot of game meat can turn it easily into breakfast sausage if you're stumped with what to do with it all. I love the little bite to this wonderful sausage gravy. Yum-0!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
By far the BEST sausage gravy we have ever had! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by royandkat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Cookie 2-2-10 My daughter requested sausage gravy for a family brunch I had never had it and did not want to eat it. After some research I felt this sound like this the best recipe. The only change I made were I used red and green peppers, dry herbs, no salt, and granules chicken (it has salt).The funny thing about that morning I would not taste the gravy w hile cooking it, my daughter before I was ready to serve had to taste the gravy. Ten people started raving about how good was sausage gravy not only did I eat some , but also my son who do not eat PORK!! It is now an official family keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This bascic recipe was amazing!. Just did not add a whole green pepper or onion. I used garlic powder to taste and did not use fresh herbs but used sage and thyme dried. Forgot the parsley. Do not need to add as much as called for using dry. Diffentely did not use the chicken bouiilon as this was added just for salt. Adjusted salt, pepper and hot pepper to taste. I have only had this gravy in the South and this was pretty close to the best or better than I had down there. Thanks again. I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I had to try this recipe because I always just cook my sausage then add a little butter, flour, and milk as needed and thought this would be a nice 'venture', as it was, but overall I do prefer my less complex taste. I will probably make this again with less red pepper, omit the sage and thyme and use only one bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The addition of the onions, peppers, and spices/seasonings really made it stand out. I did use less flour because of my own personal preference to have gravy that is not so thick, and I would suggest not adding any extra salt, at least not until after adding the chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States