Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was just okay and nothing I would make again. With all the "extras" added, I feel to took away from the old fashioned country sausage gravy taste. I prefer basic sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LDH
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Delicious! Cut back red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp and thought the kick was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDH
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
5 Stars, delicious! We have a freezer full of Elk so I used ground elk instead of the pork. I buy the dry sausage seasoning mix from our butcher, it's the same seasoning he puts into the pork for sausage. I cut the crushed red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp. because it's already in the seasonings I mix in the meat. Anyone having a lot of game meat can turn it easily into breakfast sausage if you're stumped with what to do with it all. I love the little bite to this wonderful sausage gravy. Yum-0!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
By far the BEST sausage gravy we have ever had! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by royandkat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Cookie 2-2-10 My daughter requested sausage gravy for a family brunch I had never had it and did not want to eat it. After some research I felt this sound like this the best recipe. The only change I made were I used red and green peppers, dry herbs, no salt, and granules chicken (it has salt).The funny thing about that morning I would not taste the gravy w hile cooking it, my daughter before I was ready to serve had to taste the gravy. Ten people started raving about how good was sausage gravy not only did I eat some , but also my son who do not eat PORK!! It is now an official family keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This bascic recipe was amazing!. Just did not add a whole green pepper or onion. I used garlic powder to taste and did not use fresh herbs but used sage and thyme dried. Forgot the parsley. Do not need to add as much as called for using dry. Diffentely did not use the chicken bouiilon as this was added just for salt. Adjusted salt, pepper and hot pepper to taste. I have only had this gravy in the South and this was pretty close to the best or better than I had down there. Thanks again. I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I had to try this recipe because I always just cook my sausage then add a little butter, flour, and milk as needed and thought this would be a nice 'venture', as it was, but overall I do prefer my less complex taste. I will probably make this again with less red pepper, omit the sage and thyme and use only one bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The addition of the onions, peppers, and spices/seasonings really made it stand out. I did use less flour because of my own personal preference to have gravy that is not so thick, and I would suggest not adding any extra salt, at least not until after adding the chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Ijole! I didn't add the bell pepper because the organic ones are too expensive and the regular ones are on the Dirty Dozen list. I also didn't add the chicken buillion(?) because I can't find any buillion without MSG, cubes that is. There is a brand called Kitchen Trends that is liquid, but I didn't think liquid is the reason it was being added to this recipe. I used a local grocery store chain, HEB, brand sausage that had sage in it rather than adding it at the end. I used cayenne pepper instead of the pepper flakes because we didn't have any pepper flakes (to taste, I like it spicy). My wife made homemade buttermilk biscuits from a different recipe. I also didn't add the parsley but did add the thyme as was suggested...At any rate, it was awesome. Next time, I may try adding less flour or more milk to make the gravy a little less thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good - I made this just as the recipe called for, without reading other reviews. Like others, I think I will cut back on the pepper and onion, leave out the red pepper flakes, and increase the milk when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States