Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for my husband and kids for breakfast this morning. He works a lot of nights, so I actually make big breakfasts quite often. Biscuits and gravy is one of the top picks at our house, so I make it about once a week. This just really didn't do it for us! It was just okay. My husband thought it was way too salty, and my son thought it was too spicy(which I even cut down on!) I feel guilty giving it 3 stars, because it really is just a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I will never buy packets again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is my first time making sausage gravy and mmm mmm this is good Im a big fan of this for breakfast and now that I"ve found this recipe I can enjoy it more often instead of at a restuarant!!! I didnt add the bell pepper because I was afraid to LOL and I didnt have any thyme but still an absolutely wonderful dish!! And I love the fact that I can control how thick I want the gravy to be. I also love the pepper flakes added for that extra kick I love a couple of splashes of Louisiana hot sauce on top. In all, a very great hearty breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILMAAMA01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Dang good, I usually find recipes to floury, but this is just right. I did skip the bullion through none in house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry Harrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Ann, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is some "bangin" Sausage Gravy. i had never made it before and my husband asked me to try to find a recipe. I am so glad I picked this one! Highly recommended. I pretty much made it as is except I added more flour and more milk to stretch it a little and did not use hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Loved it! Great process & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Love this recipe!! I didn't have unsalted butter on hand so I used 3 tablespoons instead of 4 to keep the saltiness down...I also started with one bouillon cube first worried about the salt but ended up using two in the end...I also used half the amount of sage and thyme because I only had the dried versions.... Great job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kivonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Fantastic, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe is a keeper for our family! I didn't have all of the fresh ingredients, so I used dried herbs, onion powder and garlic powder. I omitted the bell pepper and crushed red pepper because my family doesn't like them. The addition of chicken bouillon was a pleasant surprise and really added to the flavor of the gravy. By using Jimmy Dean fully-cooked turkey sausage crumbles, the dish went together very quickly. I'll never make gravy with only salt and pepper again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have enjoyed this site for a long time. I never have reviewed a recipe until now. This sausage gravy recipe is FANTASTIC !!!!!!!! I just tweaked a little bit. I don't add peppers or onions..instead I add onion powder..I use Jimmy Dean Sage Sausage and then I add dried thyme..I also end up using about 2 3/4 cups of 2% milk. You have too make this !!!! my 15 year old son who refuses any kind of sauces or gravies requests this ALL THE TIME !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States