Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Substituted the chicken broth with more milk. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie McCulloch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I've never written a review before, but I HAD to for this. By far, the BEST country gravy I've ever had. Huge win in our house! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Got up this morning and made this with turkey sausage and refrigerated biscuits. The package of sausage was 9.6 oz. so cut down the amounts of everything else accordingly. I'm rating this 4 stars instead of 5 because I think the amount of red pepper called for would be way too much. I just used a light shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
A whole teaspoon of red pepper flakes? I cut that back to a 1/4 teaspoon and it was plenty zippy. We like this with the added onions and peppers. Most sausage gravy is bland and floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Mehlberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I'm not a fan of sausage gravy and most recipes are very bland. My husband loves it, so I decided to try this one. Extremely flavorful with just the slightest kick. I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My family absolutely loved this gravy! I served it over some country fried chicken tenders (based on the Country Fried Chicken recipe submitted by visions) and they all got devoured. My only changes were that I used sweet Italian sausage, about half a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes, and left out the bell pepper and chicken bullion because I forgot to buy them. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpop

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I loved this gravy! I really like all the added veggies and herbs that I normally don't put into a country gravy. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used about 1/4 tsp. dried. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I added some salt and pepper when the recipe stated to, and there was way too much "flavor." I went against my better judgement. Salt and pepper it when it is completed if you think it needs it. And I would recommend 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes instead of a whole tsp. A bit too much POW for the morning biscuits and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good gravy recipe. Very basic, but sometimes the simplest things are the best. I did skip the red pepper flakes, neither me nor the kids like spicy foods. I also didn't have bell pepper. But it was fine the way it was. The kids gobbled it up, the hubby ate six (!) biscuits with lots and lots of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We used this recipe in our biscuits and gravy recipe war and it kicked butt. Sure, peppers and fresh herbs may not be traditional, but traditional or not, this kicked some serious butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States