Country Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was a delicious quiche, although after reading many reviews and suggestions, I made some modificaions and it turned out amazing the first time. Instead of 4 eggs I used 6. I used AT LEAST 1 1/4 cups of milk (for fluff and moisture), no meat (although next time I might put black forest ham in it), I filled a cereal bowl full of cheeses-2 to 2 1/2 cups(swiss and cheddar-more cheddar than swiss), only 1 heaping t. of flour (it does clump up, but you cant tell in the final product), I added a little cumin, basil, and rosemary, a pinch of nutmeg, and LESS than 1/4 t. of thyme. I also added garlic salt and finely chopped red nd green peppers. I am not a fan of tomatoes AT ALL, but I added about a handful of chopped tomatoes and threw them in last to the mix. I did not use a pastry crust. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly. I poured it directly in the pan, and cooked for the 45 minutes. It rose about an inch above my pan, more on the sides, so I gave it a few more minutes for the middle to rise as well. After I removed it, It shrunk back down. I made this the night before and stuck it in the refridgerator. TO REHEAT I moistened a paper towel and draped over desired slice to microwave for about 1 minute..... Just like fresh out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I tried this because I had everything at hand and was looking for something a little different for lunch for my husband. I didn't Mozzarella so I put 1/4 cup of grated Parm and I chopped up a small fresh bell pepper to saute with the onions. Then, because my hubby likes his eggs well done I put 1/2 of a small tomato chopped right before I put it in the pie crust to keep some moisture in even though the eggs would be done. It was very tight and tasty, but I would not double, bI would do 1.5 the ingredients because it did not fill the pie shell. Other than that it was a really good lunch and we have enough for a second. We will see how it re-heats! Overall it is a good choice for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
We tried this out this morning. We were going to just buy a store made quiche until I came across this recipe. Easy, delicious, and will become a staple in our house! However, be careful with what you think is a small onion, you could easily use to much! We plan on using sausage in the mix also next time. Thanks so much for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Excellent dish! Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Great! Many people have asked for this recipe. I make it into small individual quiches and it was wonderful for a wedding shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very good start, but I added another egg and 3/4 cup 1/2 & 1/2, instead of the milk. I also used basil instead of thyme, because that is what I had on hand. I also made mine crustless. Cooked for 50-55 minutes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I was wanting Quiche for a long time when I came accross this recipie thanks it was wonderful. Thanks Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jafo1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I made the recipe as is. The filling met halfway up crust. It was a tad bit overbaked at 45 minutes. Consistency was tougher than quiche I've had before. Flavor was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
The first thing I will mention is to be sure not to use "ground" thyme in the recipe. It turned the filling greenish and the texture became powdery. I also used thick cut bacon, I think traditional would be better (but this is not the recipe's fault!). Barring that, it baked up just fine (after 30 minutes), but after adding one additional egg (based on others' comments) was still not enough to fill the shell. So I would recommend if you try this, perhaps add two eggs and more milk? An adequate quiche but not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for my own ingredients. It came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States