Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Read some reviews didn't have lemon and wish they did. I used the lemon and i could taste it too much. Didn't remind me of a pound cake taste. Everything else was great. Next time I will not add the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaskip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This makes a very good pound cake. I've made it twice: once using all cake flour, once half cake flour and half all-purpose flour. The first cake was much better than the second. Using all cake flour the crumb was like velvet! It rose higher and was incredibly dense, but melted in the mouth. I also used two large loaf pans. I used two tablespoons of fresh lemon juice and two teaspoons of zest in lieu of the lemon flavoring. Both cakes froze perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is country good! I was just looking for something to throw together quick and this was more than throw together. Using the shortening made the cake very moist. I substituted the non GMO sugar for the regular white sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was the best pound cake I have ever had. My husband doesn't like pound cake, and he liked this one! I followed the recipe with only one change, adding 2 tbsp. of fresh squeezed lemon juice as I didn't have any lemon extract. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
GREAT RECIPE!!! I baked my cake for exactly one hour...any longer would have definitely caused it to burn. I added extra lemon extract (I LOVE LEMON), a little coconut oil AND topped it off with a homemade lemon glaze and powdered sugar. So impressed by the outcome. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I used ghee for shortening. I am baking novice. Gave it only 40 mins for serving of 8. Moist, rich and ghee like. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My first pound cake ever and it turned out great. I made strawberry shortcakes with it. I didn't have a tube pan so I greased and floured a bundt pan instead, but everything else was exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tywilliams1
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this for mother day it taste amazing. I didn't have any shortening so I just used extra butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Amazing recipe! I did use cake flour instead of all purpose, I also omitted the salt and used butter, and I used 2tsp of lemon extract and 1tsp of vanilla. My family could not get enough. There's so many different variations you can make with this recipe. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjayi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I have made many pound cake recipes and this is the best one. The only thing that I changed wad that Instead of affing lemon extract, I added almond extract, it was sooo gooood and moist, the only thing is that it was a little bit too sweet for me so next time I'll make it I will add half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States