Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I omitted the lemon, and added an extra 1/2 tsp of vanilla. The cake turned out moist, tender and flavorful. I served it with berries and cream. This is my new favorite pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
I tried this recipe and everyone loved it! This recipe is definately a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I love it! No more box pound cakes for me! My kids love it too! I halved this recipe and baked it in one loaf pan and it was perfect! I'm making it again! It's your basic pound cake that is great alone, or with a topping or you could even embellish the batter with chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It was very easy to make.I cooked the cake in two (2) seperate bread pans as i did not have the pan the recipe called for. We ate one watching the football game and I froze the other.It is also very good if you add cherry pie filling and whip cream to your finished cakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I must say, this is one of the best pound cakes I have ever tasted. I even enjoyed making it. Thank you for the recipe. I will use this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2000
this is an amazingly yummy pound cake. If you like lemon pound cake add some more lemon and it will give a nice flavor. Yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
This recipe was wonderful. It was moist, tender and tasty!!! My kids loved it. I couldn't wait the 3 hours recommeded for cool down. We let it cool for 1 hour and then dug in. Next time I am going to use 1 tsp each of orange, lemon and coconut extract. This recipe wasn't a dissappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This cake's name is perfect! This is definitely the cake that my Great Grandma used to bake. It is heavy like an acient recipe. I couldn't remember the recipe that my Mom gave me so I looked to see if there was one simular to hers and this was it. And indeed this was great. I baked it a couple of days ago, today it is gone. I am finally able to bake my husband's favorite cake. It takes quite a bit of time, but what good pound cake doesn't? Only thing is is that I like to really taste the lemon in the cake so I'd add little more lemon to it and it will be the BOMB cake. Thank you so much Morgan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This is the best homemade pound cake that I have ever tasted. I don't like lemon, so I added some butter flavouring and it was delicious!! It make take a while to mix but the end result is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I used almond essence instead of the lemon .. worked good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States