Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2000
this is an amazingly yummy pound cake. If you like lemon pound cake add some more lemon and it will give a nice flavor. Yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
This recipe was wonderful. It was moist, tender and tasty!!! My kids loved it. I couldn't wait the 3 hours recommeded for cool down. We let it cool for 1 hour and then dug in. Next time I am going to use 1 tsp each of orange, lemon and coconut extract. This recipe wasn't a dissappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Really great moist pound cake. The kind you need to use with strawberries and whipped cream. I plan to use it in an ice cream cake. I did not cook mine quite as long as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
I tried this recipe and everyone loved it! This recipe is definately a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I love it! No more box pound cakes for me! My kids love it too! I halved this recipe and baked it in one loaf pan and it was perfect! I'm making it again! It's your basic pound cake that is great alone, or with a topping or you could even embellish the batter with chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
Okay pound cake. Prep took quite awhile with all the mixing. Thought it would taste a little sweeter. We enjoyed it but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This cake's name is perfect! This is definitely the cake that my Great Grandma used to bake. It is heavy like an acient recipe. I couldn't remember the recipe that my Mom gave me so I looked to see if there was one simular to hers and this was it. And indeed this was great. I baked it a couple of days ago, today it is gone. I am finally able to bake my husband's favorite cake. It takes quite a bit of time, but what good pound cake doesn't? Only thing is is that I like to really taste the lemon in the cake so I'd add little more lemon to it and it will be the BOMB cake. Thank you so much Morgan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
This is a good recipe, but like others have said, it is very sweet. I didn't have lemon extract so I just doubled the vanilla and it was good. Also had to use two pans because it made so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This is the best homemade pound cake that I have ever tasted. I don't like lemon, so I added some butter flavouring and it was delicious!! It make take a while to mix but the end result is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I used almond essence instead of the lemon .. worked good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States