Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was my first attempt making pound cake, and I was so pleasantly surprised at the result. It's a fairly easy recipe to follow, and the texture of the cake is what I am looking for in a pound cake - dense, yet tender crumb, and lovely on its own. I used two springform pans with this recipe - a 7 and 8 inch, and baked them for an hour. I replaced the lemon extract with almond, but otherwise, followed as written. It is worth making, especially for decorative cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flunkiejunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reis
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very good recipe! Very moist and great texture and taste. The top has that nice crusty layer. Instead of regular milk, I used Silk Light Original Soy milk because that's what I buy. The cooking time was perfect for my oven. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
You will Never Ever find a better pound cake than this, anywhere! I didn't change a thing, however my cake was ready in 55 minutes. This one will be passed down in my family as well. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I couldn't have been more pleased. Perfect, dense pound cake texture, but still with a light and not overly compact crumb. Flavorful, with the ideal level of moistness, a result of getting the best of both worlds with the butter and shortening combination. (I've experienced both pound cakes that have been too dry as well as those with far too much fat, causing them to be not moist, really, but greasy!) I used this for cupcakes and, just for fun, flavored them with pure watermelon extract, then frosted them with "Grocery Store Frosting," recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
We LOVED this pound cake!, I followed the recipe to the 't', it came out perfect, I will make it again and again, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplylaurie
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was a great pound cake made exactly as given. Next time, though, I would bake it for less time. I pulled it out earlier than directed, but I could've taken it out even earlier. It was enjoyed by all with sliced strawberries sprinkled with a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
this pound cake was perfect! it wasn't too dense and it wasn't too "fluffy"....it was perfect. i didn't have an lemon extract so i used almond instead. some of the top of the cake (which was actually the bottom because i used a bunt pan) browned more than I would have liked it, but I will simply adjust the temperature of the oven next time. i will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Im new to baking and this was easy and delcious!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
very good taste and texture. However i don't know what I did wrong. It burns on crust. Next time I have to adjust the temparature. It might be because of my oven. Suggest to set the time to 40 minutes for the first check
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was a wonderful pound cake. A co-worker was asking for a pound cake so I thought I'd give this one a try. I followed the recipe exact except I used a silicone bunt pan that I coated with the Wilton Cake Release I use when I bake regular cakes. I thought this was one of the most wonderful and moist pound cakes ever. I enjoyed the lemon extract and I think I'll try almond next time as almond is my favorite. I thought the batter was a bit much, but it filled the pan when baking perfectly. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States