Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This cake was very good, it was light and fluffy.Me and my mother made two cakes for thanksgiving. both were this cake but we added banana to one to make it a banana pound cake.I will definetly be making this again. i recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious, yummy, perfect!!!! I will definitely be using this recipe again and again. Great flavor and great texture. My husband and I like to eat our pound cake plain ( No strawberries, whipped cream, frosting, and/or glaze) and it was absolutely perfect. After reading the reviews, I only used 1/2 teaspoon lemon and 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, but I think it would have been okay with the suggested measurements. I think that decision is based solely on if you like lemon flavor in cakes or not. Saving this on! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made this for a pre-thanksgiving pot-luck at work and my co-workers said they loved it.... I didn't really eat any because we had so much other stuff to eat and I was full.. What I didn't like about it was that it was dryer than I'd wanted.. or shall i said harder... As this was my first time making a poundcake, I went exactly by the recipe and it was not soft as I'd wanted. Now I know to check around the 50 minute - 1 hour mark.... I do plan on doing it again this weekend to prove my thoughts wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SF2009
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This cake is soooo goood! I knew it was going to be good while it was in the oven and I could smell it! The smell was addicting! LOL! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Love the texture of this pound cake. I added 1/4 cup of King Arthur Cake Enhancer to the batter. I made a 1/2 recipe in a loaf pan. Crust was perfect and the inside moist. Reminded me of Sara Lee. Next time I will use all vanilla instead of adding the lemon flavoring due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I love this recipe!! I am an at-home baker and when this is the only recipe I use for all of my cakes! It's light flavor is perfect for any occasion cake and its so versatile to color or make shapes out of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherF

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Excellent Pound Cake! This is my go to recipe - never fails - always delicious. For a different look, I decided to add Wilton food colors to the batter. When making this cake, the butter, eggs and milk should all be at room temperature. I use 3 cups of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also add 1 teaspoon of almond extract. This recipe also makes an excellent chocolate pound cake -just need to add 4 T. of cocoa and omit the lemon and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was just the best tasting pound cake I have had in a long time. The crust was so good and the middle so soft. I'll be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was my first attempt making pound cake, and I was so pleasantly surprised at the result. It's a fairly easy recipe to follow, and the texture of the cake is what I am looking for in a pound cake - dense, yet tender crumb, and lovely on its own. I used two springform pans with this recipe - a 7 and 8 inch, and baked them for an hour. I replaced the lemon extract with almond, but otherwise, followed as written. It is worth making, especially for decorative cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flunkiejunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reis
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very good recipe! Very moist and great texture and taste. The top has that nice crusty layer. Instead of regular milk, I used Silk Light Original Soy milk because that's what I buy. The cooking time was perfect for my oven. I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States