Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved it!! My family and I loved this cake so much!!! Especially since the lemon extract gives it this really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This cake is absolutely delicious. I followed the directions minus the lemon(Because I didn't have any) and it came out as perfection. I used a cheese cake pan and it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
finally a pound cake thats easy and delicious! came out perfect...this is my go to pound cake from now on. Be sure to use parchment paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I was out of ingredients I usually make my pound cake with and searched AR for a different recipe. I chose this one but was disappointed. I followed it to the letter except it tested done at 70 minutes instead of 80. After cooling for an hour, I removed from the parchment lined tube pan. It basically fell apart. My family did not not like the taste and texture as well as other recipes. I sliced and crumbled it up and am now toasting it. My husband will eat anything that is toasted. I was disappointed in the results and will not try this again. I see this recipe a lot in cookbooks and thought that it would be a good one. It was not our taste preference but the texture was the most disappointing of all. I needed it for a charity donation so now I have to make another one. Will make a trip to store and make my recipe. Sorry to all of you who love it but taste is an individual preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was the very first cake I bake ever. At 51 years of age I decided to try baking. This cake turn out so well, I drove 20 miles to share it with may family, (not all of it of course). I looking for a great Apple pie recipe now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was a very yummy pound cake! I have made a few from AR now - the Cream Cheese Pound Cake being one of my faves. I decided to not use the lemon extract in this and added another tsp of vanilla extract instead. Also used Silk Vanilla Light Soy in place of the milk. 'Iced' it with Hard Chocolate Glaze from AR (as shown in my picture, it was not yet cooled)! Great combo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My first attempt at a pound cake and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Commerce, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent! I think my cake was a little over cooked after 1hr 20mins. so I'll keep an eye on it next time. Otherwise, it is an awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinitstacy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
First pound cake ever, and this recipe made it a total success! Followed the recipe to the letter, except for subing Swans Down cake flour for the AP. Cake was so moist and delicious, I didn't even bother with a glaze. 1hr 20min is a little on the long side, mine burnt a little, but a burnt crust is the mark of a great pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Haven't tasted it yet, but it sure looks ugly! I've done a lot of baking in my life, but this cake totally fell! I followed the directions exactly, but about half an hour after I pulled it out of the oven, the whole middle of the cake caved in on itself and it looks horrible! I'm sorry, this might taste really good, but I don't think I want to serve this to anyone! (And drat the luck, I was supposed to take this over to my boyfriend's house tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States